Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

Proxied Online Databases: Humanities

Link directly to databases from off-campus

Humanities

America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000) -- [Full Text | NewsBank] 

Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century.  Features the complete content of each issues, including news stories, illustrations. advertisements, cartoons and much more. Students can explore virtually every aspect of American history, culture and daily life from the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, Vietnam War, the Great Depression, World War II, roaring Twenties and more.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Black Life in America -- [Full Text | NewsBank] 

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspaper sources from 1704 to current and updated daily.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Credo Video Collection -- [Videos | Credo] 

A collection of video segments on various topics such as anatomy, art history, biology, food and cooking, medicine, political leaders, and National Geographic videos covering a range of disciplines including astronomy, anthropology, atmospheric science, botany, chemistry, geography, zoology and more.
https://search.credoreference.com

Fold3 by Ancestry -- [Full text | ProQuest] *NEW*

Collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military.
https://fold3library.proquest.com

HeritageQuest -- [Full text | ProQuest]

Includes genealogical and local history materials for tracing family lineages and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. Contains information from towns and families of all 50 states as well as Canada, England, and Ireland. Search by title, family name geographic area, or subject. Includes searchable U.S. Census images from 1790 to 1940, genealogical reference books, Revolutionary-War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant application files, and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874 - African-American) records.
http://www.heritagequestonline.com

Hispanic Life in America -- [Full Text | NewsBank] 

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspaper sources, including many in Spanish.  Updated daily, 1704 to current.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com

Humanities Full Text -- [Full Text | Ebsco]

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals - of which 470 are peer-reviewed - dating as far back as 1984.
http://search.ebscohost.com

JSTOR Essential -- [Full Text |JSTOR] 

Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines.
https://www.jstor.org

Oxford Research Encyclopedias -- [Full Tex| Oxford University Press] Subscription will expire on 9/30/23.

Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, they are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics such as American History, Communication, Criminology, Education, Literature, and Politics.
https://oxfordre.com

Religion & Philosophy Collection -- [Full Text | Ebsco] 

Provides extensive coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Includes more than 300 full text journals, of which more than 250 are peer-reviewed titles.
http://search.ebscohost.com

 

Updated: September 1, 2023

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kristin Sanchez (RG)
Contact:
Rio Grande Library
gsanc127@epcc.edu
915-831-4458
Website
EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem