"This comprehensive volume may be considered the definitive study of Texas politics during the twenties. As the title suggests, the three main issues in the Lone Star State during that decade were prohibition, the Klan, and women; or more accurately, a woman, in politics.
Special Collections, UTEP Library. ". Political clippings relate to several controversies between competing factions in El Paso, including the Ku Klux Klan"
Eddy, Brothers (John and Charles) builders of the railroad to Cloudcroft
Harvey, Crawford or Charles (C.M.), Maud, Son Paul S, and wife Katharine White Harvey CM was founder of El Paso National Bank, married to Maud Harvey. could be combined into an article on the Harvey family's impact on El Paso: Crawford/Charles and Maud, and their son Paul Harvey( businessman, banker, rancher ) and his wife Katharine White Harvey. Photos of some of their houses in the El Paso's Manhattan Heights book below.
The central event is the contract murder of Thomas Lyons, the owner of the largest ranch in the United States in 1917.
Marentes, Emiliano Owner and Chef of Elemi restaurant (and former EPCC student) which is moving from its downtown Kansas Street location to the East Side Fall 2023. He is a James Beard national Culinary Award nominee.
Rubin, Gerald former Chairman, CEO and President of Helen of Troy
Satterthwaite, John Fisher. financier and real estate developer, ran for mayor of El Paso, was street and park commissioner, designed San Jacinto Plaza and Mesa Gardens
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.
Note details that might seem insignificant at first glance, in case one finds other information later.
Women's information is often found through researching the men in their lives (i.e. husband, fathers, etc.) so the notes here might only state that Mrs. X was married to Mr. X who was important for some reason, but in researching him, there might be information about his wife found later.
Research full text of local newspaper articles back to 1881 in this database available to EPCC users and in person in EPCC Libraries:
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.
Hood, Bonnet, and Little Brown Jug
Frontier newspaper : the El Paso times / by John Middagh
El Paso Inc. Q & A interviews
Rugs to riches : the amazing story of the El Paso Saddleblanket Company by 
Last Train to El Paso
Streetcars at the Pass by 
