Library Research Guides: Frontera: Architecture: Buildings

General Sources

El Paso Times & El Paso Herald-Post Newspaper Archive
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.
Henry Trost Organization
Historic El Paso
Preservation Texas - West Texas

Buildings

El Paso County Courthouse Evolution

El Paso and Southwestern Railroad Building / Compass Bank (Romanesque Revival Design)

Edward Kneezell Biography

El Paso and Southwestern Railroad Depot / St. Rogers Depot (Italianate design)

El Paso Scottish Rite (Early Revival design)

About the El Paso Scottish Rite

El Paso Union Depot / Sun Metro and Amtrak Train Station (Neo-Classic design)

Union Depot Witnessed Growth of El Paso (with 2018 update)

First National Bank built by Trost, closed during the depression in 1931 and purchased by the State National Bank

First National Bank El Paso, Texas (Trost Organization)

Pass of the North Vols. I and II (chapters on time periods)
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
definitive source on the history of El Paso written by a renowned historian. PP. 33-35 discuss the bank run when it closed
The State National since 1881: the pioneer bank of El Paso by Sonnichsen, C. L.
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
Publication Date: 1971

La Hacienda (former restaurant in the home of Simeon Hart - on Paisano near downtown El Paso)

Password article that talks about La Hacienda. Password journal issue are next to the NW Library Reference desk. Interpret this cite as follows: Password volume 27, pages 38 and 51. Hacienda Cafe, xxvii, 38, 51;

Old hacienda ready for new life: Hart’s Mill property has been historic backdrop for centuries

The Lincoln Center

New Masonic Temple

New Masonic Temple (built by Trost)

Old El Paso County Jail (San Elizario)

Old County Jail (Portales Museum)

OT Bassett Tower (Art Deco Design)

O.T. Bassett Borderlands article

W. S. Hills Building

Kress sources

Kress Foundation : Our Founder
Samuel H. Kress and Rush H. Kress (Mapping Cultural Philanthropy website)
El Paso History Alliance FB page search for "kress"
S.H. Kress & Company Collection (National Building Museum)
Samuel Henry Kress Building (El Paso History Alliance)
Library of Congress- Kress Building
Dime store deco : the architecture and adaptive reuse of Depression era S.H. Kress 5 & 10 cent stores
Univ of GA dissertation. View in person at the UTEP Library in their database: Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
Historic Kress building to get cleanup - New owner Foster has no plans for it yet. El Paso Times. March 15, 2022.
Kress Foundation Art Collection worldwide

America's 5 and 10 Cent Stores by National Building Museum Staff; Bernice L. Thomas
Call Number: UTEP Library
ISBN: 0471181951
Publication Date: 1997
Devoted to bringing outstanding design to Main Street America, Kress supported an architectural division of more than 100 architects and draftsmen. The over 200 stores these people designed and built between 1900 and 1950 set a new standard in commercial architecture.
American Art Deco Modernistic Architecture and Regionalism by Carla Breeze
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 0393019705
lovely spread on El Paso's Kress store with photos

Frontera: Architecture: Buildings

Page Guide