El Paso Resources and Service Learning Agencies: Find Background Information

The Borderlands is an EPCC "collection of student written articles on the history and culture of the El Paso, Juárez, Las Cruces border region, comprising the states of Texas, New Mexico, and the Mexican state of Chihuahua."

"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. You may discover anything from an ancestor's picture to a rare historical map. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Portal continues to grow as additional partners contribute digital versions of their collections. We hope you'll return often to discover our latest additions."

"The New Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 25,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture"

You will find 23,500 articles covering the history of Texas from A to Z. There are detailed histories of all 254 counties and of major cities. Thousands of other entries highlight communities, key events, geographical features, historical sites, institutions, and organizations. The New Handbook tells the story of the people who made Texas history -- the men and women who shaped the Lone Star State. More than 7,000 biographical entries provide authoritative information about the famous and the infamous, the legendary and the overlooked. Other essays describe the many groups of people who have lived in Texas, from prehistoric cultures to twentieth-century immigrants.