El Paso Resources and Service Learning Agencies: Articles/Online Databases

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your El Paso related topic, go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases"  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. You can search the databases by Database Collections, Subject, or by Title using the Alphabetical List of Databases.
3. Try these subjects for your topic related to the El Paso area:  General Interest, Newspaper/Current Events or History.
4. Choose a database under one of the above subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. ( You will be asked to enter your MyEPCC login information)
   Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
6. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
7. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
8. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
9. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.
10. Another way to search is by selecting Database Collections. Using this method, you can search all databases in a collection at once.  Repeat steps 5 to 9.

Subject: History

Handbook of Texas Online -- [Full Text | Texas State Historical Association]

A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture that contains 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and other topics. Includes some issues of the Southwestern Historical Quarterly Online (1897-1918) and indexing/tables of contents for more current issues.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/ 

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps -- [Full Text | Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest] (temporary connection difficulties)

Digitized maps providing detailed property and land-use records that depicts the architectural history of Texas towns and cities including the history of individual buildings or entire communities throughout the past one hundred years.  Maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.
http://sanborn.umi.com/

Subject: Newspapers/Current Events

El Paso Times -- [Full Text | NewsBank] 

News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999.
http://iw.newsbank.com/

Database Collections:  Ebsco Databases

EBSCO Databases (All)  -- [ Ebsco]

Search all Ebsco databases at one time.
http://search.ebscohost.com   

El Paso Herald Building, 103 El Paso Street (Fye, 23)

(El Paso Public Library: Otis A. Aultman photo collection A5628)

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on database name and enter your MyEPCC login/pasword.

Below are possible keyword terms to search for articles in the online databases. 

• El Paso
• El Paso
  • and Border
  • and Culture
  • and Education
  • and History
• Fabens
• Ysleta
• Canutillo
• Clint 

• Borderlands Potential Topics 
  (Library Guide with many topics)