Library Research Guides: Frontera: Women Pioneers

Women Pioneers

Pioneers

Alarcon, Francisca

1836-1925 wealthy powerful Chihuahuan widow who moved to El Paso.
Granddaughter was Josephine Escontrias who married James C. Thornton in 1900, the event was referred to as "The Wedding of the Century".

"The Wedding." El Paso Times (TX), sec. Living, 17 Sept. 2000, p. 1F.
article on a significant social wedding in 1900 in El Paso and Dona Paca, Francisca Alarcon.
Notable Women of El Paso: How Many Do You Know?
Rita Faudoa interview (Institute of Oral History #719)
granddaughter of pioneer Fransisca Alarcon and an early medical worker

Grace and Gumption : the women of El Paso USE by Marcia Hatfield Daudistel, ed.
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 0875654304
Publication Date: 2011

Dowell, Juana Marquez Tigua Indian, daughter of tribal chief, wife of Ben Dowell.

Conquistador (El Paso Historical Society newsletter
one of the issues contains a photo of Juana Dowell
Juana Marquez Dowell: Password Volume xxi, page 68
**Research Ben Dowell too!***
Password issues and index are available on the Historical Society's website as well as in the NW Library, near the Reference Desk, and at the Border Heritage Center, Main Public LIbrary, Downtown
Notable Women of El Paso: How Many Do You Know?
Mary Dowell Phillips memoirs.
@ UTEP Special Collections MS 31 Consists of a photocopy of a typewritten manuscript composed of the following: 1) "Mary Dowell Phillips' Memoirs;" 2) "Statement of Mrs. Mary M. Phillips on Early Days in El Paso, Texas, as Given to Major Richard F. Burges on May 26, 1934 3) "Newspaper Articles."

Ben Dowell, El Paso's first mayor
Call Number: EPCC LIbraries
Legendary Watering Holes
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 1585443360
Ben Dowell's Saloon -- Chapter
Ysleta del Sur Pueblo archives : a project of the Ysleta del Sur Pueblo (Tigua Tribe of Texas) Tribal Council.
Call Number: E99.T52 Y44
Publication Date: 2000-2001
Volumes 1-3 and 6 have a copyright date of 2000 and volume 4 has a copyright date of 2001.
Grace and Gumption : the women of El Paso USE by Marcia Hatfield Daudistel, ed.
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 0875654304
Publication Date: 2011

Escajeda, Josefina 1893-1981 folklorist

Latinas in the United States
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 0253346800
Escajeda, Josefina 1893-1981 One of the first Mexican American women folklorists in the 20th century. well known in Lower Valley (Clint, Fabens, San Elizario) p. 236

Glasgow, Octavia Magofin Last family resident of the Magoffin house

Password articles on Octavia Magoffin Glasgow
Glasgow, Octavia Magoffin: VOL. xxvii, pages 39, 134, 135, 137; VOL xxx, page 22; VOL v, pages 61, 67; VOL xiv, page 99 ; Glasgow, Octavia: VOL xx, page 11; photo, VOL xxiii, page 118
Password issues and index are available on the Historical Society's website as well as in the NW Library, near the Reference Desk, and at the Border Heritage Center, Main Public LIbrary, Downtown

Hague, Flora notable per Pass of the North and Builder of El Paso MS by Thompson

Hart, Juana Siqueiros wife of Simeon Hart

Reinventing the Old West: Concordia Cemetery and the power over space, 1800-1895
UTEP dissertation by Nancy Gonzalez. "Utilizing Concordia Cemetery as a framework, this study analyzes the social and economic development of El Paso County and the surrounding areas after the U.S.-Mexico War (1846-48)... The role of the original owners, Hugh Stephenson and Juana Maria Ascarate, as well as the Mexican networks, intermarriage and Mexican American women, and the presence of ethnic Mexicans are subjects that are also examined. In addition, this dissertation interrogates the pioneer narrative and how the Concordia Heritage Association utilizes its power to produce historical narratives that emphasizes Anglo superiority and their contributions to the economic growth of the region, while they utilize this same power to silence certain aspects of the past."
Notable Women of El Paso: How Many Do You Know?

Harvey, Katherine White -- daughter of Pioneer Zach T. White, donated land for Westside YWCA;

Article could be written on Harvey family's impact on El Paso: Crawford/Charles and Maud, and their son Paul Harvey and his wife Katharine White Harvey.

Hills, Frances mathematician and member of pioneer Black family.

El Paso Times & El Paso Herald-Post Newspaper Archive
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.
1909-2009: YWCA Celebrates 100 Years in El Paso 27 (2009-2010) Borderlands article
Frances Hills (DIGIE) photo
Frances Hill interview (Institute of Oral History #751)

Black and Brown: African Americans and the Mexican Revolution, 1910-1920
Call Number: EPCC LIbraries
ISBN: 0814736734
Publication Date: 2005
search title in google books and then search within for Frances Hills
Grace and Gumption : the women of El Paso USE by Marcia Hatfield Daudistel, ed.
Call Number: EPCC Libraries
ISBN: 0875654304
Publication Date: 2011
Wheresoever My People Chance to Dwell by Maceo Dailey (Editor)
Call Number: EPCC LIbraries including NW Reserves
ISBN: 9781580730273

Mills, Mary Hamilton founder of El Paso Woman's Club

Mary Hamilton, married W.W. Mills, daughter of governor 1869. started El Paso Woman's club in 1894 (which we have written about already in a Borderlands article), called it the Current Topics Club

Phillips, Mary Dowell. daughter of Benjamin Dowell, El Paso's first mayor. She came to the area with her father in 1855. notable on her own?

Ben Dowell, El Paso's first mayor
Call Number: EPCC LIbraries

Mary Dowell Phillips memoirs.
@ UTEP Special Collections MS 31 Consists of a photocopy of a typewritten manuscript composed of the following: 1) "Mary Dowell Phillips' Memoirs;" 2) "Statement of Mrs. Mary M. Phillips on Early Days in El Paso, Texas, as Given to Major Richard F. Burges on May 26, 1934 3) "Newspaper Articles."
First Mayor's Daughter Recalls School Days
El Paso times, August 6, 1973 EPCC users only

Stanton, Mary pioneer schoolteacher see link below:

Women in Education and Museums

Stephenson, Juana Maria Ascarate wealthy early Mexicana pioneer whose fortune secured her Anglo husband's fortune

Reinventing the Old West: Concordia Cemetery and the power over space, 1800-1895
UTEP dissertation by Nancy Gonzalez. "Utilizing Concordia Cemetery as a framework, this study analyzes the social and economic development of El Paso County and the surrounding areas after the U.S.-Mexico War (1846-48)... The role of the original owners, Hugh Stephenson and Juana Maria Ascarate, as well as the Mexican networks, intermarriage and Mexican American women, and the presence of ethnic Mexicans are subjects that are also examined. In addition, this dissertation interrogates the pioneer narrative and how the Concordia Heritage Association utilizes its power to produce historical narratives that emphasizes Anglo superiority and their contributions to the economic growth of the region, while they utilize this same power to silence certain aspects of the past."
Stephenson, Juana María Ascárate (1800–1856)
Handbook of Texas

Women Grouped by Occupations

Research tips

Note details that might seem insignificant at first glance, in case one finds other information later.

Women's information is often found through researching the men in their lives (i.e. husband, fathers, etc.) so the notes here might only state that Mrs. X was married to Mr. X who was important for some reason, but in researching him, there might be information about his wife found later.

Research full text of local newspaper articles back to 1881 in this database available to EPCC users and in person in EPCC Libraries:

El Paso Times & El Paso Herald-Post Newspaper Archive
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.