Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards at Northwest Library: P - Z

This guide features books in the EPCC Northwest Library Jenna Welch and Laura Bush Community Library

Phoenix Picture Book Award

The Phoenix Award annually recognizes one English-language children's book published twenty years earlier that did not then win a major literary award. It is named for the mythical bird phoenix that is reborn from its own ashes, signifying the book's rise from relative obscurity.[1]


Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award is an American Library Association literary award that annually recognizes the "best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit". It is sponsored by Booklist magazine; administered by the ALA's young-adult division, the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).

Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award

The Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award recognizes authors and illustrators whose literary work depict the Mexican-American experience.[1] This award was established in 1995 by the Texas State University College of Education in honor of distinguished alumnus, Tomás Rivera[2] an educator, poet and author of literary works depicting the difficulties experienced by Mexican migrant farmers[3] and also the first Mexican-American to hold a chancellor position at the University of California.[4]

Schneider Family Book Award

The Schneider Family Book Award is an award given by the American Library Association (ALA) recognizing authors and illustrators for the excellence of portrayal of the disability experience in literature for youth.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal established by the Association for Library Service to Children in 2001 with support from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., is awarded annually to the writer and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year.

Steptoe Award

Stonewall Book Awards: 2019 Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Book Award Honors

About the Stonewall Book Awards - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award The Stonewall Book Awards are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.

Sydney Taylor Book Award

The Sydney Taylor Book Award recognizes the best in Jewishchildren's literature. Medals are awarded annually for outstanding books that authentically portray the Jewish experience. The award was established in 1968 by the Association of Jewish Libraries

E. B. White Read-Aloud Book Award

The E.B. White Read Aloud Award was established in 2004 by The Association of Booksellers for Children (ABC) to honor books that its membership felt embodied the universal read aloud standards that were created by the work of the beloved author E.B. WhiteIn 2006 the award was expanded into two categories: The E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Picture Books, and The E. B. White Read Aloud Award for Older Readers. 

William Allen White Children's Book Award

The William Allen White Children’s Book Award is the oldest statewide children’s book award in the United States. The White Awards Program was established to encourage the children of Kansas to read and enjoy good books. Categories are Grades 3-5 and 6-8.

Young Adult Nonfiction Award YALSA

Our Mission

Our mission is to support library staff in alleviating the challenges teens face, and in putting all teens ‒ especially those with the greatest needs ‒ on the path to successful and fulfilling lives.

Read about us and our mission in Associations Now and check out our 2014 report on the Future of Library Services for and with Teens: a Call to Action

What We Do

YALSA brings together key stakeholders from the areas of libraries, education, research, out of school time, youth development and more to develop and deliver resources to libraries that expand their capacity to support teen learning and enrichment and to foster healthy communities.  Read about us and our mission in Associations Now and check out this infographic (.pdf).  YALSA is committed to embedding equity, diversity and inclusion principles throughout the organization, and to helping libraries do the same.  Read our Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

Advocate By participating in events like National Library Legislative Day and implementing District Days initiatives for libraries to participate in, YALSA works at a national level to inform and engage policy makers and elected officials about the important role libraries and librarians play in preparing teens to become engaged, productive citizens.

Research Through efforts such as its Research Agenda and Journal for Research on Libraries and Young Adults, YALSA promotes and disseminates relevant research.

Charlotte Zolotow Award Winners

The Charlotte Zolotow Award is given annually for outstanding writing in a picture book published in the United States in the preceding year. Up to five honor books and up to ten highly commended titles may also be named each year. Established in 1998 by the Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)(link is external), the award is named to honor the work of Charlotte Zolotow, a distinguished children's book editor and author of more than 70 picture books.

EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem