Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards at Northwest Library: A - F

This guide features books in the EPCC Northwest Library Jenna Welch and Laura Bush Community Library

Jane Addams Children's Book Awards

The Jane Addams Children's Book Award is given annually to a children's book published the preceding year that advances the causes of peaceand social equality. The awards have been presented annually since 1953. They were previously given jointly by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom(WILPF) and the Jane Addams Peace Association,[1] but are now presented solely by the Jane Addams Peace Association.

Alex Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18. 

American Indian Youth Literature Award

The American Indian Library Association (AILA) awards are presented every two years to recognize the most outstanding contributions to children's literature by and about American Indians. The awards were established as a way to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians.

Arab American Book Award

The Arab American Book Award was established in 2006 to celebrate and support the research of, and the written work of, Arab Americans and their culture. The Arab American Book Award encourages the publication and excellence of books that preserve and advance the understanding, knowledge, and resources of the Arab American community by celebrating the thoughts and lives of Arab Americans. The purpose of the Award is to inspire authors, educate readers and foster a respect and understanding of the Arab American culture.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

The Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature (APAAL) are a set of literary awards presented annually by the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA). The APALA was formed in 1980 "to create an organization that would address the needs of Asian/Pacific American librarians and those who serve Asian/Pacific American communities. The awards honor books about Asian/Pacific Americans, their history and culture. 

Batchelder Award

The Batchelder Award is awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originating in a country other than the United States and in a language other than English during the preceding year.

Pura Belpre Award

The Pura Belpré Award is a recognition presented to a Latino or Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays the Latino cultural experience in a work of literature for children or youth. It was established in 1996.The award is named in honor of Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian from the New York Public Library.

Children's Literature Legacy Award for Authors: Jacqueline Woodson 2018

Children's Literature Legacy Award for Authors: Nikki Grimes 2017

Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Children’s Literature Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children’s lives and experiences.

CLEL Bell Awards

Excellence in Children's and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Lists

Emilia Bloomer Project: Recommended Feminist Literature Birth through 18

Each year, the Amelia Bloomer Project seeks to recommend well-written, well-illustrated books for young readers with significant feminist content. Even as our understanding of feminism and of literary excellence is constantly evolving, we find it helpful to have some common criteria for our work.   See more


The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Children's Literature Legacy Award for authors: Jerry Pikney 2016

Hans Christian Andersen Award

The Hans Christian Andersen Awards are two literary awards by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), recognising one living author and one living illustrator for their "lasting contribution to children's literature".[1] The writing award was inaugurated in 1956, the illustration award in 1966. The former is sometimes called the "Nobel Prize for children's literature".

Boston Globe Horn Book Picture Books

First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Awards(link is external) are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children’s and young adult literature.

Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category.

The winning titles must be published in the United States but they may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges who are annually appointed by the Editor of the Horn Book.

Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

Black & African American (Children's)

Cooperative Children's Book Center CCBC

EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem