Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards at Northwest Library: G - O

This guide features books in the EPCC Northwest Library Jenna Welch and Laura Bush Community Library

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is a literary award by the American Library Association(ALA) that annually recognizes the "author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year."

Contribution to the body of children’s literature that encourages and supports the beginning reader". The text of  book must be directed at readers from pre-K through Grade 2 and must also contain illustrations, which function as keys or clues to the text. 

Golden Kite Award

The Golden Kite Awards are given annually by the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators to recognize excellence in children’s literature. The award is a golden medallion showing a child flying a kite. Instituted in 1973, the Golden Kite Awards are the only children’s literary award judged by a jury of peers. Eligible books must be written or illustrated by SCBWI members, and submitted either by publishers or individuals.

The award includes five categories: Young Reader and Middle Grade Fiction, Young Adult Nonfiction, Picture Book Text, and Picture Book Illustration. Winners are chosen by a panel of judges which consists of children’s book writers and illustrators.

Guardian Children's Fiction Award

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize or Guardian Award is a literary award that annually recognises one fiction book written for children or young adults (at least age eight) and published in the United Kingdom. It is conferred upon the author of the book by The Guardian newspaper, which established it in 1965 and inaugurated it in 1967. It is a lifetime award in that previous winners are not eligible. At least since 2000 the prize is £1,500.

Ezra Jack Keats Book Award

Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

The Ezra Jack Keats Book Award is an annual U.S. literary award.

At the Ezra Jack Keats Book Awards Ceremony every April, the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation presents the New Writer Award (since 1985) and New Illustrator Award (since 2001) to an author and an illustrator who are at an early stage of their career. Focus is on books that portray universal qualities of childhood, strong and supportive family, and multiculturalism.


Coretta Scott King Book Awards for Authors and for Illustrators

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.  

Middle East Book Award Winners

National Book Award for Young People's Literature

The National Book Award for Young People's Literature is one of four annual National Book Awards, which are given by the National Book Foundation to recognize outstanding literary work by US citizens. They are awards "by writers to writers". 

William C. Morris

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award is an annual award given to a work of young adult literature by a "first-time author writing for teens".[3] It is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association(YALSA), a division of the American Library Association(ALA). It was named for twentieth-century American publisher William C. Morris (born 1928 or 1929 and raised up in Eagle Pass, Texas, died Sept 28, 2003 in Manhattan), whom YALSA calls an innovator and "an influential innovator in the publishing world and an advocate for marketing books for children and young adults".

National Jewish Book Award

The Jewish Book Council  The National Jewish Book Awards, which began in 1950, is the longest running awards program of its kind in the field of Jewish literature and is recognized as the most prestigious.  The awards, presented by category, are designed to give recognition to outstanding books, to stimulate writers to further literary creativity and to encourage the reading of worthwhile titles.

John Newbery Award

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association(ALA), to the author of "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Named for John Newbery, an 18th-century English publisher of juvenile books, the Newbery is selected at ALA's Midwinter Confrence by a fifteen-person committee.

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2005-2018

The Andre Norton Award was created by the Nebula Award. 

The Nebula Awards® are voted on, and presented by, active members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. Founded as the Science Fiction Writers of America in 1965 by Damon Knight, the organization began with a charter membership of 78 writers; it now has over 1,500 members, among them many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy.

Lloyd Biggle, Jr., the SFWA’s first secretary-treasurer, originally proposed in 1965 that the organization publish an annual anthology of the best stories of the year. This notion, according to Damon Knight in his introduction to Nebula Award Stories: 1965 (Doubleday, 1966) “rapidly grew into an annual ballot of SFWA’s members to choose the best stories, and an annual awards banquet.”


Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction is an annual American children's book award that recognizes historical fiction. It was established in 1982 by Scott O'Dell, author of Island of the Blue Dolphins and other children's books, in hopes of increasing young readers' interest in the history that shaped their nation and their world. Eligibility for the award requires that a book be written in English for children or young adults, published by an American publisher, and the author must be a United States citizen.

Orbis Pictus

The Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children recognizes books which demonstrate excellence in the "writing of nonfiction for children."[1][2] It is awarded annually by the National Council of Teachers of English to one American book published the previous year

EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem