Timeline of Events and Key Themes
Timeline of Events and Key Themes
Timeline of Events and Key Themes
Timeline of Events and Key Themes
Timeline of Events and Key Themes
Stan Lee
Frank Miller
Jack Kirby
Alan Moore
WIll Eisner
Steve Ditko
Mark Millar
John Byrne
Grant Morrison
Brian Michael Bendis
Neil Gaiman
Todd McFarlane
Sequential art is an art form that uses images deployed in sequence for graphic storytelling or to convey information. Sequential art predates contemporary comics by millennia. Some of the earliest examples are cave paintings, Egyptian hieroglyphics, and pre-Columbian American picture manuscripts, which were recurrent media of artistic expression.
Comics have played a huge part not only in the history of the United States, but really all of human history. For example, the earliest political cartoon in America helped communicate the colonies wish for independence in a way that incited a revolution. Another example of just how much comics have impacted our history is the Martin Luther King and the Montgomery Story comic, which is a 16-page comic book about Martin Luther King, Jr., Rosa Parks, and the Montgomery Bus Boycott published in 1957 by the Fellowship of Reconciliation (one of the oldest known interfaith peace organizations). It advocates the principles of nonviolence and provides a primer on nonviolent resistance.
Examples
Comic Book History of Comics by
For the first time ever, the inspiring, infuriating, and utterly insane story of comics, graphic novels, and manga is presented in comic book form! The award-winning Action Philosophers team of Fred Van Lente and Ryan Dunlavey turn their irreverent-but-accurate eye to the stories of Jack Kirby, R. Crumb, Harvey Kurtzman, Alan Moore, Stan Lee, Will Eisner, Fredric Wertham, Roy Lichtenstein, Art Spiegelman, HergU, Osamu Tezuka - and more! Collects Comic Book Comics #1-6.
Graphic Novels II by
Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels. * Introduces users to approximately 1,000 currently popular graphic novels and manga
The Comics by
From Jerry Robinson, legendary creator of the Joker, seventy-year veteran of the comics industry, and prominent figure in monthly books, daily strips, and comics journalism, comes a comprehensive history of the truly American art form! The Comics is a fully reworked and updated edition of the 1974 classic that chronicles the origins and evolution of comic strips, from prior to The Yellow Kid through today, and highlights the game-changing contributions of such creative luminaries as Milton Caniff, Walt Kelly, Hal Foster, and Winsor McCay, among countless others.
Heroines of Comic Books and Literature by
Despite the growing importance of heroines across literary culture--and sales figures that demonstrate both young adult and adult females are reading about heroines in droves, particularly in graphic novels, comic books, and YA literature--few scholarly collections have examined the complex relationships between the representations of heroines and the changing societal roles for both women and men. In Heroines of Comic Books and Literature: Portrayals in Popular Culture, editors Maja Bajac-Carter, Norma Jones, and Bob Batchelor have selected essays by award-winning contributors that offer a variety of perspectives on the representations of heroines in today's society. Focused on printed media, this collection looks at heroic women depicted in literature, graphic novels, manga, and comic books. Addressing heroines from such sources as the Marvel and DC comic universes, manga, and the Twilight novels, contributors go beyond the account of women as mothers, wives, warriors, goddesses, and damsels in distress. These engaging and important essays situate heroines within culture, revealing them as tough and self-sufficient females who often break the bounds of gender expectations in places readers may not expect. Analyzing how women are and have been represented in print, this companion volume to Heroines of Film and Television will appeal to scholars of literature, rhetoric, and media as well as to broader audiences that are interested in portrayals of women in popular culture.
Comic Books and the Cold War, 1946-1962 by
Conventional wisdom holds that comic books of the post-World War II era are poorly drawn and poorly written publications, notable only for the furor they raised. Contributors to this thoughtful collection, however, demonstrate that these comics constitute complex cultural documents that create a dialogue between mainstream values and alternative beliefs that question or complicate the grand narratives of the era. Close analysis of individual titles, including EC comics, Superman, romance comics, and other, more obscure works, reveals the ways Cold War culture--from atomic anxieties and the nuclear family to communist hysteria and social inequalities--manifests itself in the comic books of the era. By illuminating the complexities of mid-century graphic novels, this study demonstrates that postwar popular culture was far from monolithic in its representation of American values and beliefs.
Icons of the American Comic Book by
This book explores how the heroes and villains of popular comic books--and the creators of these icons of our culture--reflect the American experience out of which they sprang, and how they have achieved relevance by adapting to, and perhaps influencing, the evolving American character. * Includes contributions from 70 expert contributors and leading scholars in the field, with some of the entries written with the aid of popular comic book creators themselves * Provides sidebars within each entry that extend readers' understanding of the subject * Offers "Essential Works" and "Further Reading" recommendations * Includes a comprehensive bibliography
