Databases operate in a manner that is similar to Google in the aspect you enter keywords and terms to retrieve information. The vast difference, though, is the information, content, and manner in which you perform these searches. These databases tend to have additional search bars within the tool and focus on key terms in rather than a phrases that are typed in their entirety. Online databases require it's navigator to have an understanding of the search features available in these resources as well as an understanding in how to perform these searches search. To access our online databases simply click here or go to our libraries page and select "Online Databases." Once within the databases you should be presented with a screen like the one showed below. Note that there are hundreds of databases available, depending on subject. Many of the features are the same in these databases but are found in various places that depend on the layout of Web page.
It is important to select a database based on the subject matter you are researching. Databases found in the general tab is a good place to start since they include information on a wide range of subject matter.
As mentioned above, features within databases are all essentially the same but vary depending on the layout of the tool. Before you perform a search with Academic Search Complete, you are allowed to modify the features within the search. Searches can be modified by date, material type, language, and more. Regardless of how you modify your search, always perform a full-text search. This will ensure you are presented articles in their entirety, rather than the several reviews and empty records these tools may contain.
For the purpose of demonstration, the Academic Search Complete database will be highlighted as an example for a "Keyword Search." As you can see, there are 3 search bars within the Academic Search Complete tool. Make sure you keep the terminology used in all searches brief and concise to your topic.
For example, you are selected to research a topic titled "What impact did September 11th have on the war on terror?" Do not input this entire phrase into the search engine. Enter terms, such as September 11th in the 1st search bar AND terror within the 2nd search bar. You can play around with synonymous terms until you retrieve the most desirable results.
In addition to the terms, it is important that you select the types of searches being done to the phrases being searched. The custom search will search for these terms and retrieve results if they are located anywhere within the record of the resource. Limiting searches to exact titles, authors, or subjects are alternative forms of searching that can provide more desirable results.
"Boolean Operators" are found on the left side of the search bar and contain the terms AND, OR, and NOT. The search now is currently searching for articles with both the terms September 11th and terror within library resources. To search for either, meaning articles can contain a combination of 1 or the other phrase, you would simply select the OR option; to exclude retrieving articles from September 11th that contain the term terror in them, select the NOT option.
After performing a search, you will be presented a list of records; the following image below is a sample of a record
Simply click the title of the record to view the item you are interested in. Once the item is selected, there will be additional features you are able to perform; this will be found on the right side of the open record. Academic Search Complete allows its users to cite, email, print, save, and perform other tasks with the articles in their database. As mentioned of above, features like these are available in most database packages. It is your job, as the researcher, to navigate these tools and take advantage of the features they offer.
