Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

RNSG 2308: Maternal Newborn Nursing: Articles/Databases

This libgide will highlight resources helpful for students in Maternal Newborn Nursing.

Searching for Articles

When you are ready to search for journal articles , go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries

  1. Click on "Online Databases" (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
  2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
  3. Try these subjects for your topic: Health and Medicine.
  4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
  5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will be asked to enter myepcc login and password.)
  6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
  7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
  8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
  9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
  10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.
  11. Most databases also have a place to click to get the article citation in APA format.

Health and Medicine Databases

CINAHL Complete 

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, Provides access to almost 5400 medical  journals (1400 full-text)  (Includes limiters for Evidence Based practice).  Provides checkboxes for Evidence Based Practice, Meta Synthesis and Randomized Controlled Trial. .  You can look under "Publication Type."  Under this you can try Meta Analysis,  Randomized Controlled Trial, and Systematic Review.  (Remember to only use one of these types or checkboxes at a time.)  You will also want to use the publication date boxes to limit to years needed.  You can also checkmark the "First Author is Nurse" box to help you find nursing research.  Checkmark Full Text to limit to articles with articles attached.

MEDLINE 

Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 5,200 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences.   Find"Publication Type."  Under this you can try Meta-Analysis, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Systematic Review.  Under "Journal and Citation Subset" you can find Nursing and click on it.  Limit publication date to years needed and select linked full text. 

Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection    -- [ Full Text | Wolters Kluwer] 

This database contains 42 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles. For this database, you will click on "Your Journals@Ovid."  This will provide you access to the journals that EPCC subscribes to.  If you don't click on this link, you will see something that says to pay for an article.  Do not pay for articles.  Just go back and click on the "Your Journals@Ovid" link.  Just make sure that the articles you are using are written by  nurses.  Some articles inside these journals could be written by doctors or pharmacists.  Look at the authors name and see what their credentials are (for example:  RN or MSN or DPN, something like that).  You can save, print, or email the articles.

ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection --  [Full text | ProQuest] *NEW*

Provides access to health, medical, nursing, psychology and public health journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.
https://www.proquest.com/health?accountid=7027  

PubMed

Provides over 35 million citations from journals, books, etc... Includes limits for evidence based practice. Under filters on left side, find "Article Type" and choose Meta-Analysis, Randomized Controlled Trial, and Systematic Reviews.  Limit your dates also.

Online Nursing and Allied Health Journals

Provides access to online individual health journal subscriptions available at EPCC.

Magazines vs. Journals

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering,  What is the difference?

Magazine

  • Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
  • Articles are usually written by people with Journalism or English degrees.  The author's don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
  • Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

  • Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
  • Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
  • The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
  • The goals of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
  • Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
  • There are journals for all different types of subjects (Business, Political Science, Nursing, Libraries, Science, History, etc...)
  • Information is more reliable than a magazine because the articles are written by professionals in that field.

 

Check if EPCC owns a particular journal

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article.  To find out if we own the full-text article on another database or in print, click on the link below for publication finder:

Publication Finder‚Äč

  1. Enter name of journal/magazine/newspaper
  2. If it is owned electronically it will provide a list of databases and years that are owned.
  3. Click on database and find volume/issue of journal needed.
EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem