Library Research Guides: Career Resources: Articles/Online Databases

Searching for Articles

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your Career, go to the following library homepage:https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries

Click on "Online Databases." (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
The databases are divided up by subject. Choose the subject closest to your topic.
Try these subjects for your Career: Careers & Testing, General, News or Subject of your career ex. Health Sciences.
Choose a database under one of these subjects.
Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will enter your MyEPCC Login/password)
Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

Career Resources - Online Databases

Learning Express Library 5.0
Whatever your goal, Learning Express Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. MUST create a new account.
http://www.learningexpresslibrary3.com
Job and Career Accelerator 5.0

A fully integrated interest assessment, career exploration, and job search platform helps job seekers explore careers that match their interests and expectations and build a personalized occupation knowledge base. MUST create a new account.
http://www.learningexpresshub.com/jobandcareeraccelerator
Vocational Search and Career Collection

Provides vocational and career full text information from more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
El Paso Times Newspaper

Full text coverage of El Paso Times and other historic El Paso newspapers from 1881 to the present. Articles from the most recent five days are excluded.

HINTS

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on any of the database names. When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.

Search Suggestions for Online Databases

Use your keyword list to search for articles in the online databases.

Career Name
Career Name
- and Careers
- and Vocational Guidance
- and Salary
- and Employment
- and Study and Teaching
- and Education
- and Occupation
- and Training
- and Benefits
- and Trends
- and Examinations
- and Study Guides