Career Resources: Choose a Career

You may already know what career you will be pursuing.  In that case, you can go on to the next topic
"Find Background Information."

If you are not sure what type of career you are interested in:

• Try the "Program Assessment" tool to see which EPCC Programs best match your interests! 
• Try using the "Find a Career Match" described in the "Want Help in Choosing a Career" box found on this page. (Job and Career Accelerator Database)
• Visit the Career and Transfer Services webpage and get help virtually.  
• Use the Career Assessment tools available on the CareerOneStop website.
• Skim through some of the career encyclopedias and handbooks that the library has available. (See below for some suggestions.)
• Ask your instructor for suggestions or feedback on your topic choice.

1. Click on the Job & Career Accelerator icon above.
2.  Click on "Sign In/Register."
3. If you do not have an account, click on "Register" (This will be your username and password for Job & Career Accelerator.)
4.  The portal opens to "My Center."  This will have any resources that you have saved when using this database.
5. On the blue bar across the top, touch "Centers." Then touch "Job & Career Accelerator."
6. Select one of the options it provides.
7. "Find a Career Match"  provides quizzes you can take to see what careers match your Interests or Skills.
8. "Explore Occupations" allows you to research over 1,000 different occupations in categories such as Green Economy, In-Demand, Military-to-Civilian, and Occupation Groups.
9. "Search for Jobs and Internships"  helps you to look for internships and a job. Over 5 million job postings.  You can limit your search to location.
10. "Build Resumes and Job Letters" helps you to create a resume, cover letter, thank you letter, and helps you with interview information.
11. "Career eBooks Library" provides you with e-Books pertaining to different careers.
12. "Discover Schools and Scholarships" provides you with a customized search tool to look for schools and scholarships that match your needs.

CareerOneStop

Search for careers using a self assessment (interests, skills, work values).  Look at career profiles and videos.  Compare occupations and find training.  Search for jobs by job name/city/state/zipcode. Additional resources for military veterans, career changers, entry level workers, and workers with disabilities.

Occupational Outlook Handbook Online

Search for careers by Name, Occupational Group, Fastest Growing, Highest Paying, Most New Jobs.  You can also search by education level.  It will provide information on how to get a job in that field, the work environment, job outlook, pay and information on those jobs in different states.

O*Net Online

Search for careers by Names or browse by category, skills, interests, values, and more.   Learn more about resumes, interviewing, and networking.