ENGL 1302 - Charles Miller's class: Reference Books for Chopin

A feminist before such a term was created and most famous for The Awakening, the controversial Kate Chopin was also the author of a second novel, At Fault, as well as numerous short stories.This reference book begins with a brief introduction to Kate Chopin's varied background and her fictional work. A chronology traces the main events of her private and professional lives. Hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries follow, summarizing the plots of her novels and short stories, identifying her fictional characters, and relating them to her own experiences, to her family members and to her friends. Many entries include bibliographical citations.

Tierney's highly acclaimed Women's Studies Encyclopedia has become the standard in the field, but research on women has proceeded rapidly since its publication. Feminist thought has grown and branched out, and women's conditions have changed markedly in some areas. This revised and expanded edition will meet the continuing need for a multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded. The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language accessible to all readers. It will continue to be a useful resource for students and scholars doing research outside their fields, and the interested layperson.

Presents a history of women around the world from earliest times to the present day.

How did marriage, considered a religious duty in medieval Europe, become a venue for personal fulfillment in contemporary America? How did the notion of romantic love, a novelty in the Middle Ages, become a prerequisite for marriage today? And, if the original purpose of marriage was procreation, what exactly is the purpose of marriage for women now? Combining "a scholar's rigor and a storyteller's craft"(San Jose Mercury News), distinguished cultural historian Marilyn Yalom charts the evolution of marriage in the Judeo Christian world through the centuries and shows how radically our ideas about marriage have changed. For any woman who is, has been, or ever will be married, this intellectually vigorous and gripping historical analysis of marriage sheds new light on an institution most people take for granted, and that may, in fact, be experiencing its most convulsive upheaval since the Reformation.

This six-volume set, the latest offering from the Gale Critical Companion Collection, explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation, lesbian literature, modern feminist theory, criticism and scholarship and much more. Also included are detailed studies of prominent women writers, including Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, Adrienne Rich and many others. Three indexes - author, title and subject - help researchers find information across the set, making it easy to make connections and find related details. Feminism in Literature is the third set in the new Gale Critical Companion Collection which is designed to complement and extend the existing Literary Criticism Series. in literature and the humanities designed to meet the research needs of high school and undergraduate students.

Traces the history of growing up female in America as told by the girls themselves in journals, household manuals, letters, slave narratives, and other primary sources.