ENGL 1302 - Charles Miller's class: Reference Books

"The third edition of this classic and indispensable work, first published in 1940 and last revised in 1976, has been updated completely for a new generation of students and scholars. Recognizing that the ways in which history is understood and interpreted have changed drastically over the past six decades, the editors have revised 448 articles, replaced 1,360 articles, and added 841 new entries. Gender, race, and social-history perspectives have been added to many entries for the first time. In another departure from the earlier editions, the editors have added maps and illustrations throughout the text, providing helpful visual cues to readers. No library should be without these new volumes."--"The Best of the Best Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2003.

This exceptional reference presents short articles on key people, events, and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States. Thoroughly revised and updated, the second edition features more than 100 new entries as well as, for the first time, photographs and artwork illustrating key concepts. Aimed at librarians, students, and teachers, the Handbook of American Womene(tm)s History provides a comprehensive, interdisciplinary view of a fascinating field of study. Arranged alphabetically, each entry is accompanied by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources to which interested readers can turn for more information. Editors Angela M. Howard and Frances M. Kavenik also provide an extensive subject/name index and end-of-entry cross-referencing to make the book an invaluable resource.

"There are many anthologies of southern literature, but this is the first companion. Neither a survey of masterpieces nor a biographical sourcebook, The Companion to Southern Literature treats every conceivable topic found in southern writing from the pre-Columbian era to the present, referencing specific works of all periods and genres. Top scholars in their fields offer original definitions and examples of the concepts they know best, identifying the themes, burning issues, historical personalities, beloved icons, and common or uncommon stereotypes that have shaped the most significant regional literature in memory." "Read the copious offerings straight through in alphabetical order (Ancestor Worship, Blue-Collar Literature, Caves) or skip randomly at whim (Guilt, The Grotesque, William Jefferson Clinton). Whatever approach you take, The Companion's authority, scope, and variety in tone and interpretation will prove a boon and a delight. Explored here are literary embodiments of the Old South, New South, Solid South, Savage South, Lazy South, and "Sahara of the Bozart." As up-to-date as grit lit, K Mart fiction, and postmodernism, and as old-fashioned as Puritanism, mules, and the tall tale, these five hundred entries span a reach from Lady to Lesbian Literature." "The volume includes an overview of every southern state's belletristic heritage while making it clear that the southern mind extends beyond geographical boundaries to form an essential component of the American psyche. The South's lavishly rich literature provides the best means of understanding the region's deepest nature, and The Companion to Southern Literature will be an invaluable tool for those who take on that exciting challenge."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

This illustrated set examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. The Encyclopedia of Women in American History is divided into three chronologically arranged volumes. Each volume includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during the period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout, and the set also features special highlights that appear next to the A-Z entries: Women's Firsts, which highlight groundbreaking achievements by women; Trail Blazers, which focus on women who have made great contributions to American society; Prize Winners, which call attention to women who have earned distinctions in important fields; Striking Quotations, which highlight the most influential or inspiring words of women in American history; and Charts and Graphs, which provide geographical and statistical data about women's history.

This six-volume set, the latest offering from the Gale Critical Companion Collection, explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation, lesbian literature, modern feminist theory, criticism and scholarship and much more. Also included are detailed studies of prominent women writers, including Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, Adrienne Rich and many others. Three indexes - author, title and subject - help researchers find information across the set, making it easy to make connections and find related details. Feminism in Literature is the third set in the new Gale Critical Companion Collection which is designed to complement and extend the existing Literary Criticism Series. in literature and the humanities designed to meet the research needs of high school and undergraduate students.