Local Resources - ENGL 1302 - Composition II (Gloria Estrada) - Library Research Guides at El Paso Community College

EPCC Libraries Online Catalog (OPAC) & Databases

El Paso Times Newspaper
News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999. EPCC online database.
EPCC's Borderlands Research Guide
This research, compiled by Rachel Murphee, is a collection of past editions of a publication called Borderlands. This periodical is comprised of articles about the history and culture of our local area. The contributors to Borderlands are primarily EPCC students.
Texas Observer
The Mission Library subscribes to the print version of this publication.
Texas Reference Center
This EPCC online database indexes the Texas Monthly, Texas Observer and the publications of the Texas Folklore Society among other periodicals pertaining to all things Texas.

Vertical File

The historical EL PASO archive conists of newspaper clippings from the El Paso Times newspaper.
Use the index located on top of the file cabinet to find the files needed.
The archive is located by the Copiers and DVD Collection.

Local & State Websites

El Paso Daily Herald Digital Archive
Archive, 1881-1901, from the Library of Congress.
El Paso Herald Digital Archive
El Paso Herald archive, 1901-1931, from the Library of Congress.
El Paso Mission Trail Information
Information about the Mission Trail and it's basic history.
New Handbook of Texas
The Mission Library owns the print version of this resource in the Reference collection, call # REF F 384.N8 1996
Password Quarterly Alphabetical Index
The Mission Library has the print issues of this quarterly dating back to the Spring of 1975, Vol. 20, Issue 1. Featured have been hundreds of articles on El Paso and Southwestern history by historians, researchers, educators, authors and many descendants of pioneers relating their family histories.
Ysleta del Sur Pueblo
Ysleta del Sur Pueblo homepage includes, history, events, and news.

Other Special Libraries in El Paso

UTEP LIBRARY: On the 6th floor of the UTEP Library, this department has a wealth of local history: papers, photographs, manuscripts, maps, etc. Detailed descriptions of the special collections that have been processed are online searchable.

El Paso Historical Society Archives contain DIFFERENT sources from Password! (Be flexible in how you search).

Border Heritage Center @ Main Library

Located in the Main Library of the El Paso Public Library (downtown)

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS include Otis A. Aultman collection of photos, historical documents, school yearbooks, and online headlines/obituary index.

VERTICAL FILE (collections of newspaper articles, brochures, photos etc.) on people, businesses, landmarks, etc.

NEWSPAPER CARD INDEX (indexes articles in El Paso's major newspapers before the 1990s: El Paso Herald Post and El Paso Times). The newspaper articles will be on microfilm, separate drawers for each newspaper and you'll have to find the reel for your date, thread it through the machine and print out the articles.

For more information please call 915-543-5440.

ENGL 1302 - Composition II (Gloria Estrada): Local Resources

EPCC Libraries Online Catalog (OPAC) & Databases

Vertical File

Local & State Websites

Other Special Libraries in El Paso

Border Heritage Center @ Main Library