Choose a Topic - ENGL 1302 - Composition II (Gloria Estrada) - Library Research Guides at El Paso Community College

How to Find a Topic

Need to choose a topic?

There are many ways you can find topics:

Look through your textbook for ideas.
Browse magazines and newspapers to find current or local topics.
Read through journals in your field of study to find topics related to your career or current issues going on in that field.
Skim through a specialized encyclopedia that covers your subject such as the Encyclopedia of Psychology or the Encyclopedia of Education.
Scroll through the current issues databases like Opposing Viewpoints or SIRS Researcher for a list of hot topics.
Browse through online news sources such as CNN, MSNBC, or ABC News for current topics.
Ask your instructor for suggestions or feedback on your topic choice.

Time Magazine
Weekly magazine that covers current issues, politics, health, science and entertainment. (Print copy available at the EPCC libraries.)
Newsweek
Weekly magazine that covers current affairs, business, technology, and culture. (Print copy available at the EPCC libraries.)
Opposing Viewpoints
Online database that provides a listing of current issues, as well as, viewpoint articles, statistics, articles, and other resources on these different issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Online database that provides a listing of the top 10 controversial issues and an A to Z listing of additional issues. Viewpoint articles, magazines, newspapers, and other resources are available for each topic.
CNN
News website providing national and world news and current new in politics, business, technology, sports, and education.
MSNBC
News website providing national and world news and current news in politics, business, sports, health, and technology.
ABC News
News website providing national and world news and current news in Politics, Health, Money, Technology, and Sports.
ProCon.org
Website includes access to 44 controversial issues that have been researched and provide access to information that covers both sides of the issues, background information, and videos.