Music Resources: Books/eBooks

Another way you can search for books is to use the Classic Catalog.

1. Go to library homepage: https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries
2. Click on "Classic Catalog."  (https://lib.epcc.edu/)
3. You can search for books by Keyword, Subject, Title, or Author.
4. Enter your words in the search box and click search.
5. A listing of books will be retrieved.
6. Look through the list and click on the title you would like to see.
7. When the item you clicked on opens on the screen, you can see the title, author, publisher, and date it was published.
8. You can also see the location, call number, and whether it is available at the library.
9. If you would like to see the book, write down the call number and find it on the library shelf.
10. You can check out books at your library with your validated student ID.
11. Books check out for 3 weeks and videos check out for 1 week.

When you search for books in the catalog you can see items at all 5 campus libraries.

You can have books from other campuses brought to you at your desired campus.

Just speak to the library staff members at the circulation desk and they will help you with that process.

Once you are done with a book you can return it to any EPCC Campus library.  There are bookdrops located at each campus or you can bring them inside during regular operating hours.

eBooks are electronic books that can be read online.

To search for eBooks, go to the library homepage: https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries

1. Click on "eBook Collection."
2. Under EBSCO eBooks click on eBook Academic Collection or eBook Collection     
3. You will be asked to enter your MyEPCC login and password.
4. The eBook search page will open.
5. At the top of the page are multiple search boxes.
6. Enter your search terms in the search box.
7. Click on "Search."
8. You will retrieve a listing of eBooks that match your search terms.
9. Click on the title of the book to see all of the information about the book.
10. Click on "PDF Full Text" (left side) to read the book.

HINTS:

• When you search for an eBook,  a listing of titles is retrieved.  Click on any of the titles to view the information about the book including the most relevant pages that match the words you entered in the search box.
• Use the arrows at the bottom of the eBook page to turn the page forward or back.
• Look at the Table of Contents and Indexes on the left side of the search page to jump ahead to a relevant section of the book.
• If you like one of the books, you can download the book.  You will be required to create an account, but the book will download to your computer or Kindle, Apple, or Android devices.  You may need to download a free reader in order to view the book on your device.  The book will check out to your for 1-3 days and will check itself back in when the time is due.
• You can also print a select number of pages of the book.  You cannot print the entire book due to Copyright protection.
• If you select a book and a red x appears, it is currently being used by another patron

Salem eBooks are electronic books published by Salem Publishing.

To access:

1. Go to the library homepage:  https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries
2. Click on "eBook Collection."
3. Click on "Salem eBook Collection."
4. Login with MyEPCC login and password 
5. View the books listed under the "Careers" heading.

Examples:  Careers in the Arts, Careers in the Music Industry

You can also put words in the search box to see what is available on your topic.

To search ProQuest eBook Central:

1. Go to the library homepage:  https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries
2. Click on "eBook Collection."
3. Click on ProQuest eBook Central
4. Place your keywords in the search box.
5. Listing of items is retrieved.  You can limit using limiters on the left side.
6. Click on the title of the item you would like to read.
7. Click on "Read Online" 

HINTS:

• If you would rather download the book, click on "Download Book" and the follow the instructions to down load the free Adobe Reader.
• You can print and copy some pages of the books but they are subject to copyright restrictions.