EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.
It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. https://search.proquest.com/avon
A collection of video segments on various topics such as anatomy, art history, biology, food and cooking, medicine, political leaders, and National Geographic videos covering a range of disciplines including astronomy, anthropology, atmospheric science, botany, chemistry, geography, zoology and more. https://search.credoreference.com
News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999. http://iw.newsbank.com
A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. http://iw.newsbank.com
Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issues, including news stories, illustrations. advertisements, cartoons and much more. Students can explore virtually every aspect of American history, culture and daily life from the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, Vietnam War, the Great Depression, World War II, roaring Twenties and more. http://iw.newsbank.com
This database provides access to more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. http://www.nexisuni.com
Collections: New York Daily Times (1851-1857); New York Times (1857-2011)
http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes?accountid=7027
Provides selected full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily. http://search.ebscohost.com
History Databases
Bibliography of Native North Americans -- [Index | Ebsco]
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage include contents from the sixteenth century to the present. No full-text.
http://search.ebscohost.com
HeritageQuest -- [Full text | ProQuest]
Includes genealogical and local history materials for tracing family lineages and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. Contains information from towns and families of all 50 states as well as Canada, England, and Ireland. Search by title, family name geographic area, or subject. Includes searchable U.S. Census images from 1790 to 1940, genealogical reference books, Revolutionary-War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant application files, and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874 - African-American) records.
http://www.heritagequestonline.com
History Study Center -- [Full text | ProQuest]
Offers valuable historical reference material that covers 14 centuries of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.
http://www.historystudycenter.com
JSTOR Essential -- [Full Text |JSTOR] *NEW*
Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines.
https://www.jstor.org
Salem Press Online -- [Online Books - EPCC owned titles] [Full Text | Salem Press]
Provides searchable full text for EPCC owned history books from Salem Press and Schlager Group.
http://online.salempress.com/home.do#
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps -- [Full Text | Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest]
Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of Texas cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
http://sanborn.umi.com
Texas Reference Center -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
http://search.ebscohost.com
