Business Research Resources: Reference Books

How is social responsibility viewed by U.S. based companies? How do stocks and bonds differ? Can a corporation be ethical? How has crowdfunding changed the nature of entrepreneurship? Undergraduate business school enrollment for both traditional and non-traditional students is increasing each year, while at the same time more high schools are building economic and business literacy into their curricula. Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 3rd Edition, is designed to meet both the specific research and general inquiry needs of all of these students by providing easy to understand essays covering all of the foundational topics, themes, and theories that will be covered in their business degree curricula. Macmillan's Encyclopedia of Business and Finance is a two volume set that is organized A-Z. Each signed entry was written by a subject expert and peer reviewed. Entries come equipped with bibliographies and See Also references to facilitate further research. Designed for the non-specialist, the Encyclopedia Of Business And Finance is a two-volume complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs. The new completely revised second edition includes 315 signed essays. *Fully indexed and numerous cross references to make information accessible quickly and efficiently.

"The seventh edition of the Encyclopedia of Management presents a completely refreshed look at the vast and continually evolving field of management. Through 316 essays, readers will encounter thousands of terms, issues, and concepts such as: Angel Investors and Venture Capitalists, Benchmarking, Cloud Computing, Consumer Behavior, Corporate Social Responsibility, Globalization, Innovation, Mission and Vision Statements, New Product Development, Organizational Change and Development, Outsourcing and Offshoring, Privacy, Privacy Laws, and Workplace Privacy, Social Networking, and Women and Minorities in Management. This seventh edition also features a management glossary defining more than 200 key terms as well as approximately 235 charts and graphs. Fully indexed and contains a thematic table of contents organized under 18 different functional categories (such as Corporate Planning and Strategic Management; Entrepreneurship; Innovation and Technology; among others) to facilitate easy identification of topics. "

When students, job candidates, business executives, historians and investors need accurate and detailed information on the development of any of the world's 2,000 largest and most influential companies, direct them to International Directory of Company Histories. This multi-volume work is the first major reference to bring together histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. Each two- to four-page entry is meticulously detailed with facts gathered from popular magazines, academic periodicals, books, annual reports and the archives of the companies themselves. Entries provide information on founders, expansions and losses, labor/management actions and other significant milestones -- all peppered with statistics, dates and names of key players. Volumes 1-6 are organized alphabetically by major industries; Vol. 7 and subsequent volumes are arranged alphabetically by company name within each volume. Each volume includes a cumulative index to companies and personal names. Volume 7 and subsequent volumes include a cumulative index to industries.

Featuring more than 800 entries, the two-volume Encyclopedia of American Business, Revised Edition is an up-to-date, easy-to-use guide to the nuts and bolts of business jargon. Difficult ideas are explained in straightforward language to help nonspecialists, students, and general readers understand the complex and sometimes confusing concepts and terms that are used in business. Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management. This encyclopedia focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business, making it a great place to start learning about how businesses operate and what the primary and different features of specific business-related functions or ideas mean. Entries include: Brain drain Carbon tax Credit default swaps Deleveraging Fair housing laws Investment fraud Micro lending Social media Subprime lending Troubled Assets Relief Program (TARP).

Published every five years, the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an indispensable volume of official industry codes used by businesses, libraries, and other establishments and individuals to complete tax returns, grant requests, and fill out other forms and to improve analyses and comparisons of different industries.

Business Statistics of the United States is the best place to find historical perspectives on the U.S. economy. It reflects the nation's economic performance since 1929. It provides over 80 years of annual data in regional, demographic, and industrial detail for key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more. the American economy and contains approximately 3,500 time series in all.

The first comprehensive financial history of the United States in more than thirty years. Accessible to undergraduate level readers, it focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period right up to the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001. The author traces the origins of American finance to the older societies of Europe and Northern Africa, and shows how English merchants transferred their financial systems to America. He explains how financial matters dominated the founding and development of the colonies, and how financial concerns incited the Revolution. And he shows how the Civil War began the transformation of America from a small economy largely dependent on foreign capital into a complex capitalist society. From the Civil War, the nation's financial history breaks down into periods of frenzied speculation, quiet growth, periodic panics, and furious periods of expansion, right up through the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s.

By the author of the critically acclaimed A Financial History of the United States, this new reference covers the extraordinary financial developments during the period 2004-2009. Beginning with a description of the criminal trials from the Enron-era scandals in which the government achieved only mixed success, this new reference then examines several corporate governance issues that have been raised as a result of those scandals and their effect on business. Next it describes the ongoing restructuring of the stock and derivative markets and the regulatory responses to the run-up in energy prices. It also examines the rise of private equity and hedge funds and the problems they encountered during the credit crisis that began in 2007. The development of the mortgage market in the United States, including a description of prior problems in that market, is discussed. It then turns to the residential housing boom and bust that led to the subprime crisis, with detailed coverage of the effect of that crisis on financial institutions along with the stock market panic of 2008 and the massive government intervention that sought to prevent another Great Depression. The concluding chapters cover in detail regulations and reform proposals.

Updated to reflect the current investment climate, this large reference volume presents a financial dictionary with definitions of more than 5,000 terms, an analysis of many current investment opportunities, guidelines for non-experts on what to look for when reading corporate reports and financial news sources, an up-to-date directory of hundreds of publicly traded corporations in the United States and Canada, and a directory listing the names and addresses of brokerage houses, mutual funds families, banks, federal and state regulators, and other major financial institutions. A previous edition of this fact-filled reference book was called "required reading for students, investors, and writers" by USA Today. The brand-new eighth edition is bigger and better than ever.

Your Passport to International Business Etiquette The most authoritative and comprehensive text of its kind, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition is your must-have guide to proper international business protocol. With countries such as China and India taking on a more significant role in the global business landscape, you can't afford not to know the practices, customs, and philosophies of other countries. Now fully revised, updated, and expanded with over sixty country profiles, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, 2nd Edition provides invaluable information on how to handle common business interactions with grace, respect, and an appreciation for different cultures.

This comprehensive reference book has been updated to reflect the country's gradually recovering real estate market. It covers virtually every aspect of buying and selling, understanding mortgages, analyzing real estate investment opportunities, getting and understanding appraisal reports, and more. The book's most important features include-- An up-to-date summary of federal real estate legislation and regulations An overview and general description of careers in real estate A 400-plus-page real estate glossary with A-to-Z short-entry definitions of real estate terms, financing terms, house styles and parts, and real estate organizations An extensive set of tables that show monthly mortgage payment figures calculated across a wide range of annual interest rates Facsimile real estate forms and worksheets to familiarize potential buyers with the paperwork involved in getting a mortgage and purchasing real estate Here in one volume is a compendium of facts, figures, and general information that covers virtually every aspect of today's real estate industry. Features hundreds of charts, tables, and line illustrations.

For the last 150 years, advertising has created a consumer culture in the United States, shaping every facet of American life--from what we eat and drink to the clothes we wear and the cars we drive.