Helpful Internet Websites: Border Life

Information on Government, Judicial, Community and Services

Includes information on colonias with maps and data

"Regional, bottom-up approaches for decision making, priority setting, and project implementation to address the environmental and public health problems in the border region."

Travel and information about Chihuahua.  Other links on page provide information pertaining to US Embassies in Mexico and other US Government Agencies.

Centralized guide to all EPCC's local history guides, publications and videos. Includes links to EPCC publications: Along the Rio Grande video series, Borderlands, Historical Markers Project, and EPCC Video Histories Project as well as starting research for names and topics in local history.

Multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association.

Texas history materials: photos, maps, city directories, newspaper articles ( El Paso newspapers early 1900s only) journal articles and more .. Worth a quick search on your topic.

"The Texas Digital Archive (TDA) manages, preserves, and facilitates access to the electronic records collections of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, including those transferred by state agencies or digitized by the State Archives. All records visible in this portal are unrestricted and available for public use." Text from tls.access.preservica.com

"To protect and preserve the state’s historic and prehistoric resources for the use, education, enjoyment, and economic benefit of present and future generations." Text from: thc.texas.gov

On the 6th floor of the UTEP Library, the Special Collections department has a wealth of local history: papers, photographs, manuscripts, maps, etc. Detailed descriptions of the collections that have been processed are online and searchable.

The archives at the Historical Society contain DIFFERENT sources from Password! Call ahead ((915) 533-3603) to see if your topic may be in their archives.

McCall Neighborhood Center. Museum and archives of African American history in the Southwest. 3231 East Wyoming Avenue, El Paso, TX 79902 915.566.2407

Located in Las Cruces, this is a premier historical archive for southwestern research. Index to their archives is on their website.

insights on nonprofits and charities, including trends, rankings, and analysis

Newspaper about the surrounding area of El Paso and Cd. Juarez. Most articles in Spanish but some in English

weekly newspaper widely read by business managers, professionals, business owners, philanthropists and their families. Contact a Reference Librarian to be logged into the site in person.

See Elections pulldown for coverage of local elections including voter guides.

"El Paso Matters is a member-supported nonpartisan media organization that uses journalism to expand civic capacity in our region. We inform and engage with people in El Paso, Ciudad Juárez and neighboring communities to create solutions-driven conversations about complex issues shaping our region." -- website

Limited number of articles for free per month.

Museum exhibit and art gallery

"Presenting and preserving the border region’s intercultural and multinational history"

Housed in the historic Turney Museum at 1211 Montana with two additional gallery wings, museum contains many fine permanent collections along with two changing galleries. Collections include work by southwestern artists, William Kolliker, African Art, Asian Art, Mexican Art.

"contemporary art of international recognition and importance" on the UTEP campus

El Paso's oldest museum explores the natural and cultural history of our region with permanent and temporary exhibits of artwork from El Paso's most celebrated artists.