Library Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles

Finding an Article

https://pixabay.com/en/magazine-colors-media-page-806073/

When you are ready to find an article on your topic, you will want to use the Online Databases.

A database is just a collection of articles that have been scanned from journals, magazines, and newspapers.
The databases are put together by subject to make it easier for you to find articles on your topic.
For Chemistry, you can use databases from Science, Health and Medicine, General, or even Controversial Issues depending on your topic.
To use the databases:

Go to the library homepage: www.epcc.edu/library
Click on "Online Databases."
Select one of the database subjects by clicking on the tab.
Select a database.
You will be asked to enter your MyEPCC login and password.
Once the database opens, find the search box and enter your keyword terms in the box. You can also limit your search to full-text and year of publication. After you do this, click on Search.
A listing of articles will be retrieved.
Once you find an article you wish to read, click on the title. It will provide you with all of the information about the article such as the title, author, journal that it is from, date, volume, etc...
Then when you want to read the article click on the full text pdf or html article.
If you like the article you can save, e-mail, or print it.
There is also a cite button you can use to help you cite the article in various styles such as APA or MLA.
If you have any problems, please call one of the reference desks to ask for help!

Science Articles

Gale in Context: Science -- [Full text | Gale]

An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of todays most significant science topics. This continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/

ProQuest SciTech Collection Premium --- [Full Text | ProQuest]

The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
http://www.umi.com/pqdauto

Science & Technology Collection -- [Full Text | Ebsco]

Contains over 800 full text journals covering scientific and technical topics. Subjects include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archeology, and materials science.
http://search.ebscohost.com/

Health and Medicine Articles

CINAHL Complete -- [Full Text | Ebsco]

CINAHL Complete, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals and provides full text for more than 1,400 journals in nursing, allied health disciplines, alternative/complementary medicine and health sciences librarianship.
http://search.ebscohost.com/

ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection -- [Full text | ProQuest]

Provides access to health, medical, nursing, psychology and public health journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.
https://www.proquest.com/health?accountid=7027

PubMed -- [National Library of Medicine]

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 34 million citations. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

HINTS

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on any of the database names. When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.

Check if EPCC owns a Particular Journal

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article. To find out if we own the full-text article on another database or in print, try the following:

Go to the library homepage
Click on "online databases"
Click on "Alphabetical List"
Click on Publication Finder
Enter title of journal in search box
If owned, will give you name of database where it is located.