Chicano Film Analysis - Dr. Melissa Esmacher (NW): Reference Books

American National Biography is a fascinating study of the people who have shaped the United States.

Cross-disciplinary source for general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.

Indispensable and classic reference book that covers the history of the United States from pre-Columbian times through the first year of the Clinton Administration. Unequaled in the amount of information contained within a single volume, and designed to be read as a narrative, the Encyclopedia chronicles all the essential facts of American history, from government and politics to science, thought and culture.

"Well written and superior in depth and quality, Milestone Documents of American History is an essential resource for reference collections." Booklist Starred Review -
2009 Booklist Editors' Choice

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.

This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole.

Offering biographies, articles on the history of the entire range of Westward Expansion topics and overview entries on complex topics, the Encyclopedia examines events, organizations and social customs that shaped the American West.

The New Handbook of Texas presents the efforts of more than 3,000 authors, editors, and reviewers. You'll find 23,500 articles covering the history of Texas from A to Z. There are detailed histories of all 254 counties and of major cities. Thousands of other entries highlight communities, key events, geographical features, historical sites, institutions, and organizations.