History Databases
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
American West
The Graff Digital Collection is a unique resource which will allows users to explore the American West through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources. The majority of the material is unique.
Bibliography of Native North Americans™
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage include contents from the sixteenth century to the present. No full-text.
HeritageQuest
Includes genealogical and local history materials for tracing family lineages and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. Contains information from towns and families of all 50 states as well as Canada, England, and Ireland. Search by title, family name geographic area, or subject. Includes searchable U.S. Census images from 1790 to 1930, genealogical reference books, Revolutionary-War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant application files, and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874 - African-American) records.
History Study Center
Offers valuable historical reference material that covers 14 centuries of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.
Salem Press Online
Provides searchable full text for EPCC owned history books from Salem Press and Schlager Group .
Texas Reference Center
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.
Search scholarly articles by typing the film/movie title or historical facts/context
General Databases
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 7,000 full text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications. The database features a majority of native (searchable) PDF content, some dating as far back as 1887.
Newspaper Databases
Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of El Paso Times. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.
Provides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999 and deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in other national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Detailed company information and financial performance measures, and company comparisons are available through the Company Dossier module. Also provides access to the Shepard's Citations® legal service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.
Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.
Remember, what you see on the left is only a selection of databases shown or discussed during the MDP Library presentation. For the full list of databases, click on the link below
