Philosophy & Ethics - Kim Diaz: Suggested Books in Reference

The articles in this edition have been updated throughout. Represents the definitive handbook of philosophy of law and contemporary legal theory, invaluable to anyone with an interest in legal philosophy Now features ten entirely new articles, covering the areas of risk, regulatory theory, methodology, overcriminalization, intention, coercion, unjust enrichment, the rule of law, law and society, and Kantian legal philosophy Essays are written by an international team of leading scholars

Providing an illuminating and informed introduction to central philosophical issues, concepts and perspectives in the core fields of metaphysics, epistemology and philosophical logic, the Dictionary takes the most common terms and notions and clarifies what they mean to the philosopher and what sort of problems the philosopher finds associated with them.

This panoramic survey of philosophic and religious thought, both ancient and modern, provides access to a wide array of ideas. More than just a dictionary, this well-designed reference work contains analytical commentary and historical accounts on a vast range of topics, select bibliographies attached to many of the entries, and considerable cross-referencing. The cross-references run from philosophic movements, to technical terms, to the positions of individual philosophers, thus encouraging a personal exploration of the themes, movements, and thinkers of any particular school of thought.

This volume has served as a stimulating introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth of coverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines. A distinguished international assembly of 249 philosophers contributed almost 2,000 entries, and many of these have now been considerably revised and updated.

For many, philosophy is a difficult, almost unapproachable field--just understanding it seems to require more knowledge than most students and general readers could possible have. That's how Masterpieces of World Philosophy can help you to truly grasp the ideas of Aristotle and Aquinas, Confucius and Camus: it examines and summarizes nearly one hundred influential works through critical essays that focus on their themes and major points. Based on the award-winning, five-volume reference, World Philosophy, each essay explains the historical background of the work, the life of its author, and its influence on modern thought. Alternative views of the philosopher's ideas are provided through reviews of important critical works, and reading lists help you find sources for additional information. With Masterpieces of World Philosophy, the ideas that have shaped our world--from the ancients to the thinkers of our time--are at your fingertips.

In no other book can the reader find indiscussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the 'cocktail-party' and 'halo' effects, and the least effort principle. Richard Gregory again brings his wit, wisdom, and expertise to bear on this most elusive of subjects.

The Gambler's Fallacy, the Dirty Hands Argument, Pascal's Wager, Buridan's Ass, Wittgenstein's Beetle in the Box--philosophical terms can be both intriguing and baffling. Now, eminent philosopher Simon Blackburn offers the most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of philosophy available in a single volume, packed with helpful information for the novice and with astute observations for the expert. Ranging from Aristotle to Zen, the two thousand plus entries cover the entire span of philosophy, from the Vedas (written over three thousand years ago) to the most recent technical terminology, with ample coverage of important themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.

Mathematics and logic have been central topics of concern since the dawn of philosophy. Since logic is the study of correct reasoning, it is a fundamental branch of epistemology and a priority in any philosophical system. Philosophers have focused on mathematics as a case study for general philosophical issues and for its role in overall knowledge- gathering.

This is a uniquely authoritative history of philosophy for the general reader. It tells the story of Western philosophy from its ancient beginnings to the present day, emphasizing the intellectual context of its development.

Applied ethics, a subdiscipline of philosophy, lends itself to an encyclopedia format because of the many industries and intellectual fields that it encompasses. The Encyclopedia is based on twelve major categories, such as Biomedical Ethics and Environmental Ethics. Religious traditions that embody normative beliefs, as well as classical theories of ethics, are explored in a non-judgmental manner.

When is it okay to lie? What does it mean to have a strong moral fiber? What forces shape a society's standards of right and wrong?
Ranging from philosophical and theoretical ethics to applied ethics, Encyclopedia of Ethics covers people, events, terms, ideas, works, and movements from a global perspective. Appropriate for high school students and general readers alike, this onevolume, AtoZ reference source provides the working vocabulary needed to tackle the ideas of ethical thinking, particularly the building of a personal moral compass and the evaluation of the laws and customs of any society or institution.

It is a lively and authoritative guide to current thought about ethical issues in all areas of human activity--personal, medical, sexual, social, political, judicial, and international, from the natural world to the world of business. Twenty-eight topics are covered in specially written surveys by leading figures in their fields.

Editor Noah Berlatsky has compiled several essays into a pro versus con sequence that explain issues relating to teachers and ethics. Readers will evaluate the ethical issues surrounding teachers and unions, and the ethical issues around teachers' working conditions. They will analyze ethical issues surrounding testing, and consider the ethical issues for teachers outside the classroom.