Websites

Philosophy Websites

David Hume: links
Writings by Hume -- Writings on Hume -- Miscellaneous Links
EPCC Philosophy Department Webpage
Philosophy is the study of general problems concerning matters such as existence, knowledge, truth, beauty, justice, validity, mind, and language. Philosophy is distinguished from other ways of addressing these questions (such as mysticism or mythology) by its critical, generally systematic approach and its reliance on reasoned argument. The word philosophy is of Ancient Greek origin, meaning "love of wisdom."
Immanuel Kant: Links
Writings by Kant -- Writings about Kant -- Miscellaneous Links
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. from website
The Philosophers' Magazine
They publish philosophy that’s clear, thought-provoking, and relevant. Our contributors are mainly professional philosophers who care about good writing and about being understood. from website
Philosophical Dictionary
This is a concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy. What you will find here naturally reflects my own philosophical interests and convictions, but everything is meant to be clear, accurate, and fair, a reliable source of information on Western philosophy for a broad audience. from website
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. from website
The Stone
A New York Times' forum for contemporary philosophers and other thinkers to discuss issues both timely and timeless.

Philosophy Associations

American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry. from website
The Society for Mexican American Philosophy
This society is dedicated to the support and promotion of Mexican-American philosophy in all of its diverse manifestations. It seeks to provide a venue for inquiry into philosophical issues that are of particular concern for Mexican-Americans and, more broadly, persons of Latin American descent.
The Society for the Advancement of American Philosophy
SAAP exists to advance scholarship and teaching in the diverse areas of American Philosophy. Work on figures and issues in American pragmatism, American idealism, American naturalism, American transcendentalism, and process philosophy are encouraged.

Ethics Websites

Bioethics Information Resources from the NIH
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The site includes a Policy and Ethics section, covering public policy, legislation, and bioethics materials.
Counterbalance Interactive Library
Counterbalance is a non-profit educational organization working to promote the public understanding of science, and how the sciences relate to wider society. It is our hope that individuals, the academic community, and society as a whole will benefit from a struggle toward integrated and counterbalanced responses to complex questions. from About Counterbalance Foundation
Globethics.net
Globethics.net is a global network of persons and institutions interested in various fields of applied ethics. It offers access to a large number of resources on ethics, especially through its leading global digital ethics library and facilitates collaborative web-based research, conferences, online publishing and information sharing. from website
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Ethics
IEP was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. from About IEP
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. Principal Editor: Edward N. Zalta

Search Suggestions for Websites

If you don't find what you need on one of the websites provided, try using google.

Go to www.google.com

Enter your in the search box.keywords
Search.
Click on "Advanced Search" next to the search box. (If advanced search is not showing, try clicking on the picture of a gear in the upper right hand corner.)
Find "Search within a site or domain."
Enter .gov .edu .org or .mil to help you find reputable websites.

Polling Report.com

Choose a subject heading or use the site Search engine to find national public opinion polls on hot topics

ProCon.org

Provides pros and cons, history, timeline, and more for 42 controversial issues.

Philosophy & Ethics - Kim Diaz: Websites

Philosophy Websites

Philosophy Associations

Ethics Websites

Search Suggestions for Websites

Websites