Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides
MyEPCC|Contact

ENGL 1302 - Instructor Lucille Dominguez: eBooks

Guide to library resources for researching information on various topics and literature. Includes helpful links to MLA citation rules and examples.

Searching for eBooks

eBooks are electronic books that can be read online.

To search for eBooks on your topic

  1. From the Library homepage, click on eBook Collection
  2. EBSCO has 2 collections.  Click on "Off-campus access" to the right of  eBook Academic Collection.  The Login screen will ask you to enter your first & last name and EPCC ID number
  3. The eBook search page will open.  At the top right, click on Choose Databases.  From the list, add a checkmark to eBook Collection.  This allows you to search both collections at the same time.
  4. At the top of the page are multiple search boxes.
  5. You can search by keyword, title, author, or subject.
  6. Enter your search terms in the search box and then click on the pull-down arrow next to "Select a Field."
  7. Select the type of search you are using. (Hint: If you are searching by keyword, just leave the "Select a Field" box alone or you can select "Text.")
  8. Scroll down the page and check mark the "Full Text" box. This means you will only get books that have the full-text available online.
  9. Click on "Search."
  10. You will retrieve a listing of eBooks that match your search terms.
  11. Click on the title of the book to see all of the information about the book.
  12. Click on "eBook full text" to read the book.

HINTS

When you search for an eBook,  a listing of titles is retrieved.  Click on any of the titles to view the information about the book including the most relevant pages that match the words you entered in the search box.

Use the arrows at the top of the eBook page to turn the page forward or back.

Look at the Table of Contents and Indexes on the left side of the search page to jump ahead to a relevant section of the book.

At the top of the right hand tool bar you will see a magnifying glass.  Click on the magnifying glass and then you may enter a specific term to search within the book. 

If you like one of the books, you can download or e-mail the book.  You can also print a select number of pages of the book.  You cannot print the entire book due to Copyright protection.

 

 

EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem