Literature: Reference Books

Presented here, in language packed with meaning and of a clarity that makes the book accessible to scholars and lay readers alike, are some 650 very satisfactory essays. There are entries not only on classic novels and great novel writers but also, as the editor says, "types of novels, on technical and formal aspects of novels," as well as criticism, theory, and influences.

Includes more than 360 interpretative essays on works of twentieth-century fiction published in the United States and Latin America.

Includes more than 360 interpretative essays on works of twentieth-century fiction published in the United States and Latin America.

Covers 625 writers in total. The writers covered in this set represent 44 countries and the history of short fiction from antiquity to the 21st century. The set also offers 53 informative overviews; In addition, seven resources are provided, two of them new. Author portraits are included as available.

Examines the theme, characters, plot, style and technique of more than 700 nineteenth- and twentieth-century works by prominent authors from around the world.

A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.

Hundreds of entries examine the literary periods and genres, significant characters, major authors, and works of Spanish literature as they relate to women's studies.

Hispanic Literature Criticism Supplement compiles many previously published critical essays that examine the essential works of 62 Hispanic novelists, poets, dramatists and other literary figures, complimenting the approximately 70 authors covered in the first edition.

A unique combination of biography and critical analysis, Magill's Survey of American Literature covers major U.S. and Canadian authors of fiction, drama, nonfiction and poetry. Thorough biographical information, combined with broad critical analysis and the review of specific major works, places each writer in very clear focus.

Flores has selected 330 authors whom he considers examplars of Spanish American literature in this century. Each entry includes biographical or autobiographical information; a bibliography (very extensive in some cases) of works by and about the subject; and critical commentary, which may or may not be distinct from the biographical information.