Acute Care Physical Therapy by
Acutely ill patients are found in the hospital, in the skilled nursing facility, in inpatient rehabilitation facilities, in outpatient practices, and in the home. The role of the physical therapist and physical therapist assistant is to rehabilitate these vulnerable and frail patients to enhance their health and functioning. The goal of Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition is to provide the acute care practitioner with the necessary knowledge to improve patients' structural impairments and activity limitations so they can more successfully participate in life. Nothing could be more challenging and rewarding. Inside, Drs. Daniel Malone and Kathy Lee Bishop, along with their contributors, provide a comprehensive review of acute care physical therapist best practice. This text builds upon fundamental knowledge by addressing important components of the patient examination ranging from the patient's medical history to laboratory testing to life supporting equipment. Following this introduction, each chapter highlights specific organ systems with a review of pertinent anatomy and physiology followed by common health conditions and medical management. Important physical therapy concerns, examination findings, and rehabilitation interventions are discussed in detail. This Second Edition includes numerous tables, figures, review questions, and case studies that highlight clinical reasoning and the physical therapy patient care model as outlined in the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. New in the Second Edition: Increased focus on evidence-based examination, evaluation, and intervention The latest technology in physiologic monitoring and patient support equipment Introduces the "PT Examination" and "ICU" algorithms to promote safe and progressive rehabilitation Emphasis on clinical decision making through the application of a clinical reasoning model applied to the end of chapter cases Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition will serve as a valuable education tool for students, newer professionals as well as post-professionals who provide therapy services to the acutely ill patient regardless of setting.
A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation by
The field of geriatric rehabilitation is constantly changing due to the discovery of new evidence-based evaluation and treatment strategies, as well as the continual support or refutation of older theories and practices. Now in its Fourth Edition, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation has been updated to be at the forefront of these changes. Drs. Jennifer Bottomley and Carole Lewis have compiled the plethora of available scientific research on geriatric populations and combined it with their years of actual clinical practice. Together this makes this text a complete evidence-based guide to the clinical care of geriatric patients and clients. The first part of A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition tackles applied gerontological concepts, providing the general knowledge base necessary for treating geriatric patients. Topics in this section include patient evaluation, an exploration of nutritional needs, and age-related changes in physiology and function, as well as many other foundational areas. In the second section, topics become more focused on patient care concepts like neurologic considerations, cardiopulmonary and cardiovascular considerations, and establishing community-based screening programs. In the final section, chapters center on administration and management, including important subjects such as attitudes, ethics, and legal topics, as well as consultation and research. New and Updated in the Fourth Edition: - Pearls section for succinct highlights of the content within each chapter - The latest evidence-based practice interventions with complete references for further reading - Updated graphics, pictures, and diagrams to illustrate the content - Content summaries and streamlined text for enhanced readability - Updated case studies to exemplify clinical decision-making Designed to provide valuable, real-life clinical knowledge, A Clinical Approach to Geriatric Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition gives physical therapists an evidence-based guide to the clinical aspects of rehabilitative care in older adult patients and clients.
Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy by
Clinical reasoning is an essential non-negotiable element for all health professionals. The ability of the health professional to demonstrate professional competence, compassion, and accountability depend on a foundation of sound clinical reasoning. The clinical reasoning process needs to bring together knowledge, experience, and understanding of people, the environment, and organizations along with a strong moral compass in making sound decisions and taking necessary actions. While clinical reasoning and the role of mentors has been a focus of the continued growth and development of residency programs in physical therapy, there is a critical need to have a broader, in-depth look at how educators across academic and clinical settings intentionally facilitate the development of clinical reasoning skills across one's career. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy: Facilitation, Assessment, and Implementation fills this need by providing a comprehensive and in-depth focus on development of the patient-client management skills of clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making. It takes into account teaching and learning strategies, assessment, and technological applications across the continuum from novice to residents/fellows-in-training, along with academic and clinical faculty for both entry-level and specialist practice. Drs. Gina Maria Musolino and Gail Jensen have designed this comprehensive resource with contributions from professional colleagues. The text centers on life-long learning by encouraging the development of clinical reasoning abilities from professional education through residency education. The aim and scope of the text is directed for physical therapy education, to enhance clinical reasoning and clinical decision-making for developing professionals and post-professionals in both clinical and academic realms, and for the development of clinical and academic faculty. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy uniquely offers both evidence-based approaches and pragmatic consultation from award-winning authors with direct practice experiences developing and implementing clinical reasoning/clinical decision-making in practice applications for teaching students, residents, patients, and clinical/academic faculty in classrooms, clinics, and through simulation and telehealth. Clinical Reasoning and Decision Making in Physical Therapy is the first of its kind to address this foundational element for practice that is key for real-world practice and continuing competence as a health care professional. Physical therapy and physical therapist assistant students, faculty, and clinicians will find this to be an invaluable resource to enhance their clinical reasoning and decision making abilities.
Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most important skills for a physical therapist assistant to develop and use effectively. The new Third Edition of Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant continues the path of teaching the student and clinician documentation from A to Z. Mia Erickson and Rebecca McKnight have updated this Third Edition to reflect changes in the ever-evolving profession. Newly addressed are the changes in documentation requirements for major payers, changes in the disablement models used, and the increasingly common use of electronic documentation in the physical therapy profession. Features inside the Third Edition: Readers are encouraged to think about disablement and disablement concepts when writing notes How to document impairments in body structure and function but more importantly activity limitations and participation restriction Descriptions of the differences in documentation methods using a computer vs paper chart Evidence tied to benefits and challenges of computerized documentation Documenting the rationale for treatment and the unique skills of the physical therapist assistant in patient management New inside the Third Edition: Incorporation of the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health disablement model Chapter on electronic documentation Screenshot examples of the popular WebPT® electronic medical record platform Updated chapters on reimbursement and legal issues Additional examples for student practice included in each chapter Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition is the perfect guide for all physical therapist assistant students and clinicians who want to update and refine their knowledge and skills in documentation.
Documentation for Physical Therapist Assistants by 
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants, Fourth Edition introduces students to the role of the physical therapist assistant in physical therapy care.
Dutton's Introductory Skills and Procedures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Fundamental Orthopedic Management for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Fundamentals of the Physical Therapy Examination Patient Interview and Tests and Measures by 
Introduction to Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Introduction to Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition offers an introduction to pathology for students enrolled in physical therapist assistant (PTA) programs.
Pathology for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Physical Rehabilitation, Medicine, and Therapy Sourcebook by
"Offers basic consumer health information about barriers physical rehabilitation, disabilities and types, treatment plans, modalities, physical limitations, co-occurring conditions, employment, and transportation, as well as insurance benefits. A directory of organizations that provide services for physical rehabilitation and therapy"--
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs by
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions.
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs by 
Physical Therapy Documentation by
Newly updated and revised, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition provides physical therapy students, educators, and clinicians with essential information on documentation for contemporary physical therapy practice. Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most essential skills for physical therapists. In this text, authors Mia L. Erickson, Rebecca McKnight, and Ralph Utzman teach the knowledge and skills necessary for correct documentation of physical therapy services, provide guidance for readers in their ethical responsibility to quality record-keeping, and deliver the mechanics of note writing in a friendly, approachable tone. Featuring the most up-to-date information on proper documentation and using the International Classification of Functioning, Disabilities, and Health (ICF) model as a foundation for terminology, the Third Edition includes expanded examples across a variety of practice settings as well as new chapters on: Health informatics Electronic medical records Rules governing paper and electronic records Billing, coding, and outcomes measures Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. An invaluable reference in keeping with basic documentation structure, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition is a necessity for both new and seasoned physical therapy practitioners.
Procedures and Patient Care for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
TM
Psychosocial Elements of Physical Therapy by 
Therapeutic Agents for the Physical Therapy Assistant by Therapeutic Agents for the Physical Therapy Assistant by 
Transformative Physical Rehabilitation by
In adult physical rehabilitation, the transformative learning theory offers a detailed model of Meaning Perspective Transformation in Physical Rehabilitation based on research evidence, with examples and cases, and presents guidance for clinical applications. This book draws from the theoretical background of transformative learning in adult education (Mezirow) to discuss the expansion and transfer of knowledge to clinical rehabilitation and community health rehabilitation settings for rehabilitation interventions. It also presents innovative findings of a fifteen-year research project on the process of meaning perspective transformation with client/patient groups. This project generated the first model of transformative change in the field of physical rehabilitation, built on successive, externally funded research projects that were completed for the first time with any of these client populations undergoing interventions in occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and other physical health rehabilitation disciplines. The book is written for clinicians, educators, and students of physical rehabilitation, as well as for those who are interested in helping a loved one deal with personal change.
Davis's Drug Guide for Rehabilitation Professionals by Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants by
Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants, Fourth Edition introduces students to the role of the physical therapist assistant in physical therapy care.
The Role of the Physical Therapist Assistant by
Explores the PTA's role as the preferred extender of PT care and the importance of building strong relationships with PTs. Addresses the transition from clinical to the real-world of professional practice in the chapter, Beginning your Career, Post-Graduation Advanced Learning and Skill Development, perfect for capstone courses. Emphasizes American Physical Therapy Association's (APTA) policies and positions as well as the World Health Organization's (WHO) International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) model. Addresses issues of role delineation, teamwork, professionalism and leadership development. Offers "Reflection Bullets" throughout each chapter and "Review and Application" sections at the end. Features a workbook-like design with perforated, tear-out pages.
Clinical Decision Making for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Gray's Basic Anatomy by
Depend on Gray's Basic Anatomy, 2nd Edition to deliver superbly illustrated, authoritative, interactive content preferred by both students and faculty. Easy-to-read and concise, it has a strong clinical focus that's ideal for readers who need an efficient, high-yield anatomy textbook offering coverage of the most important anatomical concepts. Part of the renowned Gray's family of references, featuring outstanding full-color artwork praised for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, a strong clinical focus, and interactive online features. Easy-to-use format Online features include self-assessment questions, additional clinical, and PT cases, and much more. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. New figures throughout, including explanatory artwork of the cranial nerves. New Imaging Apps boxes, including OCT, provide even more student-friendly exposure to clinical content. New Clinical Apps boxes detail clinical implications.
Pierson and Fairchild's Principles and Techniques of Patient Care by
Build your physical and occupational therapy patient care skills on a foundation of the proven practices found in this must-read text. In addition to clear "how-to" information on everything from positioning and draping, to patient transfer and ambulation activities, the book's easy-to-understand rationales will give you the "why" behind these proven techniques. This fifth edition also comes with new student resources on the companion Evolve site complete with videos, case studies, skills checklists, and more. Clearly written instructions and full-color illustrations on patient care techniques and procedures cover topics such as proper lifting, patient transfers, basic wound care, and assessment of vital signs. Insight into rationales and physiological principles explain why specific techniques and procedures are used. More than 700 full-color photographs vividly demonstrate proper performance of techniques and procedures used in the assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Procedure boxes throughout the text offer additional tips for optimal assessment and management of patients in the rehabilitation setting. Self-study and problem solving activities promote decision-making and problem solving skills. NEW! Video clips and skills activities on companion Evolve site illustrate the techniques and procedures described in the text. NEW! Content based on the ICF model, the model currently endorsed by the APTA and AOTA, reflects the current theories and practice guidelines of physical and occupational therapy. NEW! Information on professionalism teaches about the guidelines that currently exist and how to apply those guidelines to patient interactions.
Concepts of Evidence Based Practice for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice by
Guide to Evidence-Based Physical Therapist Practice, Fourth Edition teaches the knowledge and skills to evaluate medical evidence and apply it to the practice of physical therapy. This valuable reference explains the fundamentals of medical research and how to determine which studies are useful in practice. As the leading evidence-based practice text for physical therapy, this is a comprehensive resource no physical therapist or student should be without.The Fourth Edition has been updated with new clinical scenarios, additional research examples, and more activities to support the application of key concepts. This practical guide empowers readers to learn how to evaluate research designs, appraise evidence, and apply research in clinical practice. Its reader-friendly style facilitates learning and presents the knowledge essential for physical therapist students to develop a strong foundation in research methods and methodologies related to evidence-based medicine. New to the Fourth Edition* New Clinical Scenarios at the beginning of each chapter aid in the application of key concepts* New chapter on appraising qualitative research studies* Expanded coverage of clinical practice guidelines* Updated coverage of the most commonly used electronic search engines* Inclusion of updated terminology from the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0Instructor Resources* Test Bank* Slides in PowerPoint format* Instructor Manual [New!]* Sample Syllabus* Image BankStudent ResourcesNavigate Companion Website - Available at go.jblearning.com/Jewell4eCWS* Practice Quizzes* Interactive Glossary* Interactive Flashcards* Crossword Puzzles* Web Links
Atlas of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound of the Extremities by
Featuring nearly 800 illustrations, images, and photos, Atlas of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound of the Extremities by Dr. Mohini Rawat is a comprehensive visual guide to musculoskeletal ultrasound imaging for health care students and clinicians. Musculoskeletal ultrasound imaging is a new, rapidly growing field with applications across many health care disciplines. With its increased popularity comes a need for detailed training resources. The Atlas of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound of the Extremities presents information on scanning protocols for the joint regions and peripheral nerves of the upper and lower extremities in an easy-to-follow, highly visual format. Beginning with an overview of ultrasound physics, equipment, terminology, and technique, the book provides detailed instruction for musculoskeletal ultrasound of the shoulder, elbow, wrist, hip, knee, ankle and foot, concluding with a comprehensive chapter on peripheral nerves. Each chapter contains detailed images of scanning protocols, anatomy, sonoanatomy, patient positioning, and probe positioning for each joint region. Images are accompanied by explanatory text descriptions, along with clinical pearls under points to remember. Designed for students and clinicians in physical therapy, occupational therapy, athletic training, orthopedics, rheumatology, physiatry and podiatry, the Atlas of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound of the Extremities provides essential introductory training materials and serves as a helpful reference for busy clinical environments.
Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: a Practical Guide by
Musculoskeletal ultrasound has seen a considerable surge in usage in recent years. Its advantages are manifold. Given adequate training of the examiner, it is very cost-effective; there is no ionizing radiation to contend with; the scanners are normally highly portable; and it enables certain interventional procedures to be performed with great accuracy (therapeutic injections of local anesthetics and/or corticosteroids into areas of complex anatomy, e.g., the shoulder). In this book, the anatomic areas are organized in chapter pairs, of which the first part of the pair summarizes the diagnostic imaging of that area from various angles so as to obtain the standard images necessary for reliable evaluation. The second part covers the image-guided injection techniques themselves, including requisite equipment. Key Features: Concise texts accompanied by typical US scans, brilliant anatomic illustrations, and many photographs showing proper scanner placement Juxtaposes normal and pathologic anatomy for maximum understanding Detailed and lucid description of all common injection procedures, appropriately illustrated Resteghini's Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: A Practical Guide is an essential introductory reference for physical therapists, sports medicine physicians, orthopaedic practitioners new to the method, radiographers, and allied health professionals involved in the diagnosis and therapy of musculoskeletal conditions.
Musculoskeletal Assessment by 
Musculoskeletal Interventions by 
Therapeutic Modalities for Musculoskeletal Injuries by 
Rehabilitation Ethics for Interprofessional Practice by
Rehabilitation professionals need to be grounded in moral principles in order to meet the needs of patients and effectively collaborate in interprofessional healthcare teams. Rehabilitation Ethics for Interprofessional Practice introduces a common language and theory for interdisciplinary ethics education and practice while establishing a moral foundation and guiding readers in how to put ethical principles into action. The text begins by describing the moral commons, a framework for ethical deliberation characterized by mutual respect for personal and professional identity, common language, inclusion of relevant stakeholders, and the dialogic process. The authors then describe the Dialogic Engagement Model (DEM), gives professionals a structure and space for learning and understanding within their teams as they strive to provide ethical patient care. Rehabilitation Ethics for Interprofessional Practice is forward-looking, grounded in both theory and practice. A resource for faculty and students across the rehabilitation sciences, it translates ethical principles into simple units that rule-based, ends-based, virtue-based, and narrative-based. It also focuses on: * Developing ethical comportment--not just beliefs and decisions, but also dispositions and actions * Embodying the moral standards of practice: humility, respect, openness, curiosity, honesty, and more* Cultivating engaged relationships in rehabilitation practice
Fundamental Orthopedic Management for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Learning to Lead in Physical Therapy by
A timely and essential book for physical therapist and physical therapist assistant students, faculty, and practitioners, as well as clinical educators, Learning to Lead in Physical Therapy provides information on identifying, developing, and demonstrating effective leadership skills for daily practice. Drs. Jennifer Green-Wilson and Stacey Zeigler explain that in a health care field that's constantly evolving, leadership skill development must be a high priority in physical therapy education and practice. Leadership skills are critical for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants throughout the course of their careers-in an informal leadership role with patients, in collaboration and advocacy for interdisciplinary care, and in formal leadership positions as they continually adapt to new expectations. With an evidence-based framework, the authors incorporate a workbook-style text with written prompts, activities, tools, quotes, and personal vignettes from practicing clinicians to explore concepts including: Discovering your individual strengths, developing your leadership style, and learning to lead through mentorship and coaching Communicating effectively, incorporating teamwork and collaboration, becoming an inclusive leader, and leading through conflict Effecting change through leadership, ethical decision-making, and serving others This book is easily incorporated within a single course or across multiple courses throughout a curriculum. Academic and clinical faculty and practitioners will also find this book easy to use for personal growth with its activity-based guidance through each chapter. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants have the unique opportunity to be leaders at all levels-in their practices, the health care system, and their communities at large. Learning to Lead in Physical Therapy is an essential text in preparing students, faculty, and practitioners of all levels for these crucial leadership roles and responsibilities.
Physical Therapy Management by 
Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children Expert Consult by 
Meeting the Physical Therapy Needs of Children by 
Pediatric Physical Therapy by 
Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation by
Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach is a groundbreaking text designed to enhance the practice of all health care providers, enrich discussion, and emphasize the interdisciplinary nature of managing best outcomes for a child who has had a stroke. Evidence-based practice is threaded throughout the text with an emphasis on recovery vs. compensation, goal achievement, and outcome measurement. In conjunction with the interdisciplinary contributions from a wide variety of health care professionals, Drs. Heather Atkinson, Kim Nixon-Cave, and Sabrina E. Smith aim to provide the necessary tools to effectively treat children with stroke. The first section reviews the medical fundamentals, covering all major types of strokes. The second section of Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation focuses on the core of the matter, rehabilitation. The final section expands the understanding of the child's recovery to the family, community, and school environment. Select chapters include: Personal vignettes written by family members of children who have had a stroke that provides insight into the impact a stroke can have on the child and family A family focus box to summarize the main points of the chapter to provide the best tools for caregivers to advocate for their child A case study related to the content and family perspective Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation also utilizes the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) framework throughout. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach is an interdisciplinary and invaluable resource for students and clinicians to understand and apply effective evidence-based practice and treatment approaches for childhood stroke. The text will also be of interest to healthcare professionals, specifically physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech-language pathologists, physicians, neuropsychologists, nurses, and educators, who work with children who have experienced a stroke.
Pediatric Therapy by
Research has become increasingly clear regarding the benefits of interprofessional collaborations in health care. Pediatric therapists have long recognized that coordinated care and advocacy for children and their families promote healthy growth, development, and participation in a wide range of environments. To this end, Pediatric Therapy: An Interprofessional Framework for Practice has been designed to engage students and clinicians in interprofessional learning experiences that cultivate collaborative practice and optimize the outcomes of those served.Dr. Catherine Rush Thompson and her team of contributors represent years of experience across the fields of physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech-language pathology. Rather than discussing each of these fields in isolation, however, the text explores professional roles and responsibilities, emphasizing essential skills needed for collaboration in a range of pediatric settings.Key Interprofessional Concepts Covered:* Foundations and philosophies that serve as a basis for pediatric care* Assessing infants, children, youth, and adolescents in various situations* Legal and ethical considerations impacting pediatric care* Unique issues encountered in settings where pediatric therapies are offered* Using current evidence and the clinical reasoning process for designing and modifying interventionsEach section of Pediatric Therapy offers case-based learning activities requiring interprofessional collaboration for clinical reasoning to optimize care. This approach encourages an appreciation of the importance of holistic care, as well as an understanding of the roles, frames of reference, and approaches favored by each discipline.Pediatric therapists and others who work in healthcare and educational settings will appreciate Pediatric Therapy: An Interprofessional Framework for Practice as a guide for developing the interprofessional competencies needed to achieve desired outcomes for children and their families.
Tecklin's Pediatric Physical Therapy by
RG & MDP
Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Physical Therapy by 
Essentials of Cardiopulmonary Physical Therapy by 
Essentials of Kinesiology for the Physical Therapist Assistant by 
Umphred's Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant by
A comprehensive guide to neurological rehabilitation for physical therapist assistants (PTAs), Umphred's Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition presents contemporary, evidence-based principles and techniques for examination, intervention, and treatment for individuals with neurological conditions. Umphred's Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition addresses a wide variety of pediatric and adult neurological disorders, including spinal cord injury, brain injury, stroke, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Guillain-BarrÉ syndrome, and more. Drs. Lazaro and Umphred have updated this classic text to reflect current and emerging trends in physical therapy, including: The role of the physical therapist assistant in neurocritical care The PTA's role in management of clients with lifelong impairments and activity limitations Technology in neurorehabilitation Also included is a new chapter on functional neuroanatomy, which provides the foundational background for understanding the relationship of the structure and function of the nervous system. The text has been updated to reflect the American Physical Therapy Association's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning (WHO-ICF) enablement model, and the 2016 IV STEP Conference. The Third Edition also features helpful instructor and student resources, including an instructor's guide and an updated online video library with new videos on patient management. Umphred's Neurorehabilitation for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition is the definitive resource for any physical therapist assistant faculty, student, or clinician interested in the physical therapy management of individuals with neurological conditions.
Gray's Anatomy - II: Complete, Illustrated with 1247 Original Coloured Drawings by 
The Pocket Atlas of Human Anatomy, Revised Edition by
Revised and updated: a user-friendly illustrated guide to human anatomy, written for students and practitioners. This concise, pocket-sized guide is a full-color on-the-go reference for students and practitioners of anatomy, massage, physical therapy, chiropractics, medicine, nursing, and physiotherapy. This second edition is more comprehensive, and now includes the skin, and the cardiovascular system, and more. Chapters 1 through 7 explain anatomical orientation, tissues, bones, the axial and appendicular skeletons, joints, and skeletal muscles and fascia. Subsequent chapters detail the four major muscle groups with composite illustrations of each region's deep and superficial muscles in both anterior and posterior views. Color tables show each muscle's origin, insertion, innervation, and action. A final chapter by Thomas W. Myers outlines myofascial meridians, presenting a map of fascial tracks and illustrating how they wind longitudinally through series of muscles. This new approach to structural patterning has far-reaching implications for effective movement training and manual therapy treatment. Three appendices illustrate cutaneous nerve supply and dermatomes (Appendix 1), the major skeletal muscles (Appendix 2), including detailed charts of the main muscles involved in movement, and the remaining body systems (Appendix 3). "Impressive artwork throughout--far better than many of the current textbooks."--Dr. Robert Whitaker, MA MD MChir FRCS FMAA, Anatomist, University of Cambridge, author of Instant Anatomy, Fifth Edition and A Visual Guide to Clinical Anatomy (Wiley-Blackwell)
