Library Research Guides: Community Health: Reference Books

Diseases & Disorders

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment
Call Number: Ref RC 71.A14 2013
MDP and RG campuses

Note: Reference Books do not check-out.

Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual
Available online through the Stat!Ref database.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Laurie J. Fundukian
Call Number: REF RC41 .G35 2011
ISBN: 9781414486468
The updated edition of this authoritative, comprehensive, in-depth medical guide features information on more than 1,700 medical topics in language accessible to adult laypersons. Disease/disorder articles typically cover definition; description; causes and symptoms; diagnosis; treatments; prevention; and more.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Call Number: Ref RC 41.G35
MDP, RG, TM, and VV campuses; online through the
Health and Wellness Resource Center database.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Call Number: REF RC334 .G34 2005
ISBN: 078769150X
Publication Date: 2004
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health
Call Number: Ref RT21 .G353 2006
MDP campus
Health Issues in the Latino Community by Marilyn Aguirre-Molina
Call Number: REF RA448.5.H57 H395 2001
ISBN: 9780787953157
Sweeping in scope, Health Issues in the Latino Community identifies and offers an in-depth examination of the most critical health issues that affect Latino's health and health care within the United States. This resource offers a comprehensive approach that informs and promotes the advancement of the practice, program planning, research, and public policy to improve health care of all Latino citizens.
Oxford Textbook of Public Health
Available online through the Stat!Ref database.
Understanding Diseases
Call Number: REF RT65 .U53 2008
ISBN: 9781582556659

Dictionaries

Diccionario de Terminos Medicos: Ingles-Espanol, Espanol-Ingles
Call Number: REF R121.R93 1999
Spanish dictionary of English medical terms. Lists the English word or phrase and gives the Spanish definition.

Note: Reference Books do not check-out.

English-Spanish/Spanish-English Medical Dictionary by Glenn T. Rogers
Call Number: REF R121.R626 1997
ISBN: 9780070536807
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Translates more than 15,000 commonly used medical, technical, common, and slang terms in both English and Spanish. Sample conversations covering history-taking for a number of medical conditions are shown in Spanish as it is spoken in the U.S. with English translation immediately following. This edition includes expanded patient histories and over 3,000 new terms.

Medical & Nursing

Atlas of Anatomy
Call Number: Ref QM 25.G55 2008
Publication Date: 2008
MDP and RG campuses

Note: Reference Books do not check-out.

Conn’s Current Therapy
Call Number: Ref RM 101.C87 2013
MDP and RG campuses
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
Call Number: Ref RM 301.12.D44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
MDP and RG campuses; online through the Stat!Ref database.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Call Number: Ref RC 46.H333
Publication Date: 2008
MDP and RG campuses
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Call Number: Ref RC 55.M4
Publication Date: 2011
Latest edition available online through the Stat!Ref database.
Nurse's Pocket Guide
Publication Date: 2010
Latest edition available online through the Stat!Ref database.
Physicians' Desk Reference
Call Number: Ref RS 250.P48
Publication Date: 2011
All campuses
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
Call Number: Ref R 121.S8 2008
Publication Date: 2008
MDP and RG campuses; available online through the Stat!Ref database.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: Ref R 121.T18 2009
Publication Date: 2009
MDP, RG, and TM campuses; available online through the Stat!Ref database.

Stat!Ref

Stat!Ref is an electronic medical library that enables users to cross search multiple resources such as Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Mosby's Drug Consult, Stedman's Medical Dictionary and other valuable medical books.