Controversial Issues
Credo Reference [Full text | Credo | Off-campus access] *NEW*
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos
https://search.credoreference.com
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [Full text | Gale | Off-campus access]
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com
General Databases
Academic OneFile [Full text | Gale | Off-campus access]
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Academic Search Complete [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Newspaper Databases
El Paso Herald-Post/El Paso Times Newspapers Archive -- [Full Text | ProQuest] *NEW*
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current. Newest issues delayed 5 days.
http://www.proquest.com
Access World News [Full Text | NewsBank | Off-campus access]
A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
Newspaper Source Plus [Full text | Ebsco | Off-campus access] *UPGRADED*
Provides selected full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Government Databases
Military & Government Collection [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government with cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Updated: March 5, 2019
Texas Reference Center [Full text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
http://search.ebscohost.com
The Texas Tribune is a nonpartisan, nonprofit media organization that promotes civic engagement and discourse on public policy, politics, government, and other matters of statewide concern.
Updated: March 5, 2019
AVON (Academic Video Online) -- [Videos | Alexander Street | Off-campus access] *NEW*
It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
https://search.proquest.com/avon
Credo Video Collection -- [Videos | | Credo | Off-campus access] *NEW*
A collection of 13 video collections on various topics such as biology, nutrition, business leaders, art history, and others from Credo Reference.
https://search.credoreference.com
Updated: March 5, 2019
