This is a custom Google search box to perform a "QUICK" search of all the web resources listed below, however is highly recommended to still visit and search the sites individually.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
Independent local newspaper covering El Paso and Ciudad Juarez news since 1976. To access archives request username and password from librarian.
El Paso Inc. is divided into three sections intended to provide intelligent, upscale readers with each week's most relevant and interesting stories on the people and events that affect their lives. Section A, Main News, focuses tightly on business, economic and financial news of local interest. Section B, Lifestyle, covers civic, charitable, philanthropic, social and lifestyle events. Section C, Your Money, covers economic news the financial markets and helps readers navigate the increasingly complex world of personal finance. To access archives request username and password from librarian.
An opinion local newspaper – a source of news that matters to the local community. Their columnists and contributors are unique voices within the local community and they provide them a platform to be heard.
News coverage from 1881 to the present
Legacy.com archives the obituaries published in El Paso Times. Includes information about the people they loved, the contributions they made, the lives they led. From Falcon Hills to Fort Bliss, East El Paso to Kern Place, Morningside and Montoya Heights… across the entire Sun City area, celebrating the lives of those who have passed away with a record of their legacy, and the living memories of those they leave behind.
The El Paso County Historical Society has been publishing Password, a quarterly publication, since 1956. Password contains articles about El Paso and the surrounding area.
The Tejano Tribune is the totally student-run online newspaper for El Paso Community College. The online version is updated daily with up-to-the-minute school, city, national and world information.
The Prospector has been serving UTEP’s community since 1915. Winning numerous awards, both editorial and advertising, The Prospector is read regularly by UTEP students, staff and faculty. The Prospector covers on-campus and off-campus news, entertainment and sports events.
DIGIE stands for Digital Information Gateway In El Paso. DIGIE is a vast collection of images and videos exploring El Paso’s past and present. It examines its people and its many cultures on giant 3-D touch-sensitive TV screens at the Museum of History and on a mobile Mini-Digie as well. Our Mini-Digie will be transported to classrooms, malls, community centers and other locations where citizens gather so everyone has the opportunity to experience and be included in El Paso’s digital history.
Google Images is the most comprehensive image search on the web.
Frontera is a centralized guide to all EPCC's local history guides, publications and videos. If you want to learn more about a facet of local history, use the tabs on top to browse EPCC publications or view our videos. Use the search box to find sources we've written OR links to other sources for further discovery! Your search may also pull up potential topics that we have not fully researched yet but may interest you! These are grouped under the "Other Research Topics" tab at the top. Research that person, place, or topic through the sources listed on this page and email Rachel Murphree if you have any questions!
This Library Research Guide will provide you with information on libraries that are located in the El Paso Region and surrounding areas.
The El Paso Public Library’s Border Heritage Center was formed in 1995 by combining three major collections – Southwest, Genealogy, and Raza – into one area of the Main Library. The purpose of the Center is to enhance the quality of life of El Pasoans and others by collecting, preserving, and making available information about the history and culture of the residents of El Paso and the surrounding Southwest region.
Metz, Leon Claire (November 6, 1930 – November 15, 2020)
Morales, Fred M.
Romo, David Dorado
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873 and is still published today.
The Handbook consists of overview, general, and biographical entries focused on the entire history of Texas from the indigenous Native Americans and the Prehistoric Era to the state’s diverse population and the Modern Age.
In honor of the University of Texas at El Paso’s Centennial, the UTEP Library’s Special Collections Department has been digitizing many of the University’s publications. This site will allow many books, journals, yearbooks, and pamphlets to be freely available to the public for research.
The Institute of Oral History was founded in 1972 as part of the Department of History and now has over 1,600 oral histories available to the public and researchers.
The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas. Created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries, the Portal leverages the power of hundreds of content partners across the state to provide a vibrant, growing collection of resources. Emphasizing on primary sources, first-hand accounts, and fascinating artifacts.
Since 1872, Publishers Weekly, familiarly known in the book world as PW and "the bible of the book business," is a weekly news magazine focused on the international book publishing business. It is targeted at publishers, booksellers, librarians, literary agents, authors and the media. It offers feature articles and news on all aspects of the book business, bestsellers lists in a number of categories, and industry statistics, but its best known service is pre-publication book reviews, publishing some 9,000 per year.
The Historical Marker Database
This website is an illustrated searchable online catalog of historical information viewed through the filter of roadside and other permanent outdoor markers, monuments, and plaques. It contains photographs, inscription transcriptions, marker locations, maps, additional information and commentary, and links to more information. Anyone can add new markers to the database and update existing marker pages with new photographs, links, information and commentary.
The Texas Mountain Trail Region
The Texas Heritage Trails Program (THTP) is the Texas Historical Commission’s (THC) award-winning heritage tourism initiative. This economic development initiative encourages communities, heritage regions, and the state to partner and promote Texas' historic and cultural resources. These successful local preservation efforts, combined with statewide marketing of heritage regions as tourism destinations, increase visitation to cultural and historic sites and bring more dollars to Texas communities. This in turn supports the THC's mission to protect and preserve the state's historic and prehistoric resources for the use, education economic benefit, and enjoyment of present and future generations.
