GOVT 2305/2306 - Presentation on Recent Event (James Stepp): Home

Suggestions for topics:  Busing immigrants, abortion bans, Equal Rights Amendment, mass shootings, gun safety/firearms/AR-15, minimum wage, immigration reform, opioids/fentanyl, election integrity, universal health care

Here are some suggestions for video creating software:

Or check app stores on your phone.

Use Opposing Viewpoints,  Ebsco Discovery Service, and Credo Reference 

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints -- [Full Text | Gale]  

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com

Credo Reference -- [Full text | Credo] 

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
https://search.credoreference.com

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.

Use Opposing Viewpoints database to find a recent event that interests you. 

• Click on BROWSE ISSUES and Use pull down to choose the topic  OR Search using keywords
• Choose an issue of interest  and click on the "news" link and sort by newest.  Check viewpoints. 
• FILTER your results (right hand side)  by subject (the number in parentheses after the term is the amount of articles available) Hit Apply near the bottom. You can remove the filter by clicking the blue term. The "search within" button searches the full text of selected articles. Useful if you want to look at Texas implications (for example)
• You may need to change the sort value again to newest. 
• Click on the LINK for the title of the newspaper, magazine, or other source to see information about the publication and its possible political slant. 
• Note there are VIDEOS, audio streams, info graphics, etc. 

As you find information, jot down KEY TERMS that describe your topic to use in searches in other places.

CHECK VIEWPOINT -- google name/organization or review other articles in the issue, or use MEDIA BIAS FACT CHECK (see Tools for Citing and Evaluating Sources Box)

SAVE or EMAIL or PRINT article with citation in style specified by your instructor. Note citation is at the bottom of the articles.

KEYWORD SEARCH your topic.  

REFINE YOUR SEARCH - click on a subject/descriptor that fits to redo your search. This narrows down the list.

FURTHER REFINE - choose type of source, or Geography choose United States, etc. 

SORT by relevance or newest, whichever is pertinent. 

CHECK VIEWPOINT -- google name/organization or review other articles in the issue, or use MEDIA BIAS FACT CHECK (see Tools for Citing and Evaluating Sources Box)

SAVE or EMAIL or PRINT article with citation in style specified by your instructor. Optional: use Noodle Tools link to save your citations and print bibliographies

To Find Videos use Opposing Viewpoints database or Access World News : 

​Login when you are off campus by using your my.epcc.edu account and password.  You can move from database to database and stay logged in.

In EDS (Ebsco Discovery Service) click on the words “hello guest” in the green bar at the top of the page.  Login with your EPCC network username and password.

Avoiding Plagiarism: What do I need to cite?  (65 second video)