Topic suggestions (including very recent ones ICYMI):
EPCC Students have access to the Yuja video software through Blackboard. Go to the "tools" in the left sidebar and click on "My Yuja".
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos
A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts.Includes major Texas newspapers and Texas college and universities student newspapers
Use Opposing Viewpoints database to find a recent event that interests you.
As you find information, jot down KEY TERMS that describe your topic to use in searches in other places.
CHECK VIEWPOINT -- google name/organization or review other articles in the issue, or use MEDIA BIAS FACT CHECK (see Tools for Citing and Evaluating Sources Box)
SAVE or EMAIL or PRINT article with citation in style specified by your instructor. Note citation is at the bottom of the articles.
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts.Includes major Texas newspapers and Texas college and universities student newspapers
Here's an annotated list of sources that Mr. Stepp has given you in your assignment handout.
All are available in Access World News except for the New Yorker. The rest are websites/blogs/podcasts found through a web search.
| Federal Left leaning | Federal Right Leaning |
| NPR.org Mother Jones Slate The New Yorker in Academic Search Complete The Daily Beast |
NPR.org |
| Texas Left Leaning | Texas Right Leaning |
| Texas Tribune (newspaper) | Texas Tribune (newspaper) |
Login when you are off campus by using your my.epcc.edu account and password. You can move from database to database and stay logged in.
