RNSG 2213: Mental Health Nursing: Articles/Databases

When you are ready to search for journal articles , go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases" (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Nursing can be in multiple topics as it is multidisciplinary but the best place to look is Health and Medicine.
4. Choose a database under this category..
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will be asked to enter MyEPCC login and password.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Enter the publication dates you are allowed to use.  I enter the oldest date on the left and leave the other box empty so it comes to the present.  Example:  2018- 
9. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
10. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
11. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.
12. Most databases also have a place to click to get the article citation in APA format.

CINAHL Complete 

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, Provides access to almost 5400 medical  journals (1400 full-text)You will also want to use the publication date boxes to limit to years needed.  Checkmark Full Text to limit to articles with articles attached.

MEDLINE 

Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 5,200 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences.   Limit publication date to years needed and select linked full text. 

Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection    -- [ Full Text | Wolters Kluwer] *NEW*

This database contains 42 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles. For this database, you will click on "Your Journals@Ovid."  This will provide you access to the journals that EPCC subscribes to.  If you don't click on this link, you will see something that says to pay for an article.  Do not pay for articles.  Just go back and click on the "Your Journals@Ovid" link.  This database is very plain. You can save, print, or email the articles.

ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection --  [Full text | ProQuest] *NEW*

Provides access to health, medical, nursing, psychology and public health journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations. Provides leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.  Limit the dates on the left side.  Select Scholarly Journals to get rid of newspapers, dissertations, etc...​ You can print, save, email, and cite your articles.

PubMed

Provides over 30 million citations from journals, books, etc... Limit your dates.

Online Nursing and Allied Health Journals

Provides access to online individual health journal subscriptions available at EPCC.

Micromedex 2.0 Healthcare Series (Does not provide articles. Provides summaries)

A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Provides evidence based drug information and clinical summaries. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, the PDR® Electronic Library and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.

When you need to find a Mental Health Nursing article on any topic, we have access to a great Nursing Journal called:  Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services.

To access this journal:

1. Go to the library homepage epcc.edu/services/libraries
2. Click on Online Databases
3. Click on Alphabetical Listing
4. Click on Publication Finder
5. You will login with your MyEPCC sign on information
6. Enter the title: Journal of Psychosocial Nursing
7. Click on search
8. When the title comes up, click on it.
9. Then you will see two options, click on Nursing and Allied Health database
10. When it opens, if you have a topic you can enter it in the search box. it will give you all articles from that topic though so you need to limit your search to the years you can use.
11. Or you can look issue by issue to see what articles are available on various mental health topics
12. You do that by scrolling to the section that says Choose an issue to View
13. Then you can look at the current issue that is on the main page or change the year and month of issue to see previous issues. Then you can just browse and see what there is.
14. Each article should have a full text pdf available for you to click on and view.

You can also access the Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services on your mobile phone by scanning this QR code with your camera.  You will just need to login with your MyEPCC login and password when prompted.

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article.  To find out if we own the full-text article on another database or in print, click on the link below for publication finder:

Publication Finder​

1. Enter name of journal/magazine/newspaper
2. If it is owned electronically it will provide a list of databases and years that are owned.
3. Click on database and find volume/issue of journal needed.