Use the online databases to search for articles found in magazines, journals & newspapers. Databases also show video, images, interviews, etc. Each database is unique so try to familiarize yourself with it before you begin. Use the tutorials found in each database page for assistance.
Here are a some Hints
· Use the advance search
· Type in simple keywords like "War World I" or "War and Reconstruction"
· Make sure to click on full text (if not you will retrieve abstract articles only)
· If you are looking for journals, click on the box that states "journals only," or "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals"
*
List of online databases where information on History can be found
General Databases
Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering, business and other subjects beginning in 1980. Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full text.
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 7,000 full text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications. The database features a majority of native (search-able) PDF content, some dating as far back as 1887.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage include contents from the sixteenth century to the present.
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
A literary database that includes author biographies and interviews, plot summaries and work overviews, criticism, literary journals, book reviews, and full text for selected poems, short stories, and classic books. Also includes a citation tool and literary glossary. Includes Masterplots and Masterplots II as well as the Bloom Series on Literary Criticism. (Does not duplicate information in Gale's Literature Resource Center.)
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Newspapers
Complete full text content of local and regional news beginning January 1, 1999.
