Library Research Guides: Fire Technology: Books

Searching Topics

The EPCC library catalogs are available from the library home page:

https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries

There are two catalogs. The Ebsco Discovery Service will let you search our print book/DVD collections plus some of our online article databases, all at the same time. However, if you are not on an EPCC campus and want to view an article, you will be asked to log in with your EPCC active directory.

The Classic Catalog only searches our print book/DVD collections, but it does not require a login for off campus use.

Use the Online Catalog to Search for Books and DVDs

Most fire technology materials are shelved in the area:

TH9025 - TH9745. This is the section dealing with protection of buildings, including protection from fire.

Some fire technology related books and DVDs are located in other sections of the library; to find these materials you will need to use the Online Catalog.

The Online Catalog lets you search four different ways:

Subject Search - This searches the Subject tag section of each item in the catalog. It is a very focused search strategy.

Keyword Search - This searches all the tags of each item in the catalog at the same time: Author, Title, Subject, even the table of contents.

Title search - Use to search for specific DVD or book titles to see whether we own them at the library.

Author Search - Type the author's name in this order: Last name, First Name

HINTS

Did you know that you can limit your search to a particular EPCC campus library?

In the Ebsco Discovery Service, do your search, then scroll way down the results page until you see "Library Location" on the left hand side of the screen. Click on the down arrow to open up a list of EPCC campus libraries, then click on the library that is closest to you.
In the Classic Catalog, there is a box on the main search screen that says "All Campuses." Click on the down arrow on this box and select the campus you want to search.

Did you know that you can request a book or DVD from another EPCC campus library?

Just fill out a form at your nearest EPCC campus library to get a book or DVD sent to the EPCC campus library of your choice. (It usually takes two to three working days, Monday - Friday, to arrive.)

Books and D.V.D.s on Fire Technology

These are just a few of books the El Paso Community College Libraries owns.

Brannigan's Building Construction for the Fire Service by Glenn P. Corbett; Francis L. Brannigan; NFPA Staff
Call Number: TH9145 .C67 2015
ISBN: 9781449688943
Publication Date: 2015
For over forty years, Brannigan's Building Construction of the Fire Service has been the fire service's most trusted and comprehensive building construction resource available. Now in its Fifth Edition, this bestselling resource continues to honor Frank Brannigan's legacy by continuing his passion for detail and extensive practical experience. His motto, "Know your buildings," impacts every aspect of this text. This Fifth Edition now features: Coverage of the National Fire Academy's Fire and Emergency Services in Higher Education (FESHE) Building Construction for Fire Protection course objectives. New stand-alone chapter on New, Light, Green (Solar), and Modular Construction. Enhanced emphasis on tactical considerations found throughout the text. Trust Brannigan's Building Construction of the Fire Service to provide straightforward information on different building types and their unique hazards needed to keep fire fighters safe on the job.
Fire and Life Safety Inspection Manual by Robert E. Solomon
Call Number: TH9176 .F57 2013
ISBN: 1449670822
The Fire and Life Safety Inspection Manual, Ninth Edition is the most up-to-date inspection reference manual for those interested in fire protection, fire safety, and life safety inspections. It provides step-by-step guidance through the complete fire inspection process, with special emphasis on life safety considerations. This text identifies dangerous and hazardous conditions that could be encountered in a structure and spells out the chief areas the inspector should be focused on during an inspection. Inspectors should use the Fire and Life Safety Inspection Manual, Ninth Edition to identify existing deficiencies, imminently dangerous conditions, or a fault in a procedure or protocol that may result in a fire. Six new chapters have been added to make sure fire inspectors have the knowledge and resources available to effectively conduct all types of fire inspections. These new chapters include: * Chapter 5 Certification and Training for Inspectors * Chapter 6 Green Technologies and the Inspector * Chapter 24 Commissioning Process for Fire Protection Systems * Chapter 25 Accessibility Provisions * Chapter 26 Grass, Brush, and Forest Fire Hazards* Chapter 27 Tunnels More than three hundred codes and standards form the basis for the criteria, recommendations, and requirements that are found throughout the text. Early chapters provide important background information, while the second half presents inspection guidelines for specific fire protection systems and occupancies that are based on the Life Safety Code®.This text is packaged with an access code that provides free access to easy-to-follow checklists to help you remember and record every important detail.Whether you're just starting your career as a fire inspector or ready to brush up on the basics, the Fire and Life Safety Inspection Manual, Ninth Edition has the reliable inspection advice you need.
Fire Fighter Safety and Survival by Don Zimmerman
Call Number: TH9145 .Z56 2015
ISBN: 9781284036411
Fire Inspector I and II by Ben Hirst Performance Training Systems; Ben Hirst
Call Number: TH9157 .H574 2014
ISBN: 9781449609641
Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Fire Officer by Michael Ward
Call Number: TH9119 .F568 2015
ISBN: 9781284026672
Covers the entire spectrum of the 2014 Edition of NFPA 1021: Standard for Fire Officer Professional Qualifications.
Fire Protection Systems by A. Maurice Jones
Call Number: TH9245 .J66 2015
ISBN: 9781284035377
Provides a comprehensive overview of the various types of fire protection systems, their operational abilities and characteristics, and their applications within various types of structures.
Fire Safety Management Handbook, Third Edition by Daniel E. Della-Giustina
Call Number: TH9241.D45 2014
ISBN: 9781482221220
By reducing property loss insurance premiums and fostering an efficient work The Fire Safety Management Handbook is every safety manager's must-have guide for developing a successful fire safety management program.
Fire Service Rapid Intervention Crews by Joe Nedder
Call Number: TH9182 .N43 2015
ISBN: 9781449609764
Publication Date: 2015
Be prepared for any Mayday situation! From training to equipment to on-scene considerations, Fire Service Rapid Intervention Crews: Principles and Practice covers all aspects of rapid intervention and ensures that crew members and incident commanders are fully prepared for "Mayday" emergencies. The textbook completely addresses both knowledge and skills requirements found in the 2015 Edition of NFPA 1407, Standard for Training Fire Service Rapid Intervention Crews, and informs training personnel on how to conduct safe, effective rapid intervention training. Fire Service Rapid Intervention Crews: Principles and Practice provides a road map for small, medium, or large departments to safely train members on the skills of self-survival and rapid intervention to prepare for incidents where fire fighters become lost, trapped, or disoriented.
Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional by Lon H. Ferguson; Christopher A. Janicak
Call Number: TH9146 .F47 2015
ISBN: 9781598887112
Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional provides safety managers with a guide for incorporating fire hazard awareness and protection into their safety management plans. Industrial fires pose one of the greatest threats to organizations in terms of financial, human, and property losses. Understanding fire safety basics, the physics of fire, and the properties and classes of common hazards is key to designing fire safety management programs that not only protect an organization s assets but also ensure the safe evacuation of all involved. Fundamentals of Fire Protection for the Safety Professional takes an in-depth look at fire hazards in the workplace from the substances required to do business to the building construction itself, and provides practical fire safety principles that can be applied in any work environment. Readers will learn how to develop emergency action plans and fire prevention plans, implement effective alarm and detection systems and fire extinguishment systems, and develop a comprehensive fire program management plan that is in compliance with Federal Emergency Management Agency, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Environmental Protection Agency, and National Fire Protection Association standards. Each chapter includes a chapter summary and sample problems, making this an ideal training tool in the workplace or the classroom. Answers to chapter questions and a comprehensive glossary and index are provided at the end of the book.
Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services by Robert Klinoff
ISBN: 9781284032987
Publication Date: 2015
Designed for use within courses based on the Fire and Emergency Services in Higher Education (FESHE) Principles of Emergency Services model curriculum, this new Fifth Edition will prepare readers for a career in the fire or emergency services. Introduction to Fire Protection and Emergency Services provides an overview of the fire service, from history and culture to the basics of chemistry and physics, fire protection systems, and strategic and tactical considerations for wildland or structural fires. The Fifth Edition has also been updated to include new or expanded coverage of risk management, Next Generation (NG) 9-1-1, the U.S. Fire Problem from local and federal perspectives, wildfire issues and the impacts of global warming, and much more.
Legal Considerations for Fire and Emergency Services by J. Curtis Varone; Pauline Calderwood
Call Number: KF3826.E5 V37 2012
ISBN: 9781111308803
Examines the most challenging legal issues confronting firefighters and emergency service personnel today. Readers will explore such major legal concerns as fire service liability issues, the jurisdiction of OSHA over fire departments, the applicability of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, search and seizure, employment discrimination, residency requirements, sexual harassment, and more.
Managing Fire and Emergency Services by Adam K. Thiel; Charles R. Jennings
Call Number: TH9145 .M2526 2012 and second copy in Reference Collection REF TH9145 .M2526 2012
ISBN: 087326763X
McGraw-Hill Education Firefighter Exam, 2nd Edition by Ronald Spadafora
Call Number: TH9157 .S63 2015
ISBN: 9780071835008
Publication Date: 2015
Your up-to-the-minute guide for acing the firefighter exam, McGraw-Hill Education: Firefighter Exams offers 7 full-length sample exams (two more exams than previous edition), plus valuable instruction and practice in all the most common question types--all designed to reflect today's new firefighter responsibilities as emergency first responders, as well as current fire department recruiting diversity standards. Features: New chapters on cognitive abilities and personality attributes, new practice reading passages, sample firefighter qualifying exams like those given in various jurisdictions across America, up-to-the-minute information about all elements of the firefighter qualifying process, including the physical exam and the oral interview.
The Station-Ready Rookie by Collin S. Blasingame; Justin C. Dickstein; John E. Gomez
Call Number: TH9120 .B55 2016
ISBN: 9781593703660
Publication Date: 2015
While fire academies teach the fundamentals and technical skills of firefighting, "life as a rookie" is an area that is mostly overlooked. Three fire service veterans wrote The Station-Ready Rookie to help new firefighters know and understand what will be expected of them during their first assignment to a fire station and throughout their probationary period. This book is designed to shorten the rookie's learning curve and help the reader become an outstanding new firefighter from day one. It is perfect for aspiring firefighters, new recruits, fire departments, and training academies! The second edition of The Station-Ready Rookie takes into account reader feedback and addresses current topics for today's new and seasoned firefighters. It contains an entirely new fourth section as well as new chapters on:- choosing your city of employment- the expanding role of the fire department- hazing within the fire department- utilizing your chain of command- creating and seizing opportunities- the importance of being involved in your community.
Fire Safety of Historical Buildings by Gabriele Bernardini
Call Number: TH9445.M8 B47 2017
ISBN: 3319557432
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
This book applies a behavioral point of view to individuals' fire safety in historic buildings. It outlines theoretical and operative issues, based on recent studies and international guidelines. Firstly, critical issues for Building Heritage fire safety are widely discussed, by including the modelling of human factor and man-environment-fire interference in these architectural spaces. A significant part of the book includes a discussion on emergency modeling and simulation. A source code for representing the fire evacuation process (including man-evacuation facilities interactions) is offered to the reader. Methods for effectiveness assessment of risk-reducing solutions are provided and tested in a case-study. Being a structured approach to occupants-related problems during a fire in heritage buildings, it offers an innovative methodology and practical examples that researchers and designers can use as a guide when proposing and testing solutions. Evaluation indexes for effectiveness assessment (also useful for future guidelines or handbooks) are included. Readers are encouraged to understand these indexes within the proposed approach, so as to extend their applications and possibilities of how to introduce human behaviors-based solutions in other fields. Lastly, attention is focused on the proposal and evaluation of low-impact and not-invasive strategies, such as ones based on wayfinding elements. From this point of view, the pros and cons of wayfinding systems are discussed: these are important today, especially for fire-safety designers, because of the ongoing innovations in this field.

Fire Technology: Books

Library of Congress Classification System Subject Range

Searching Topics

Use the Online Catalog to Search for Books and DVDs

HINTS

Books and D.V.D.s on Fire Technology