Library Research Guides: Government Research Guide (NW): Home

Try out these terms

Some suggested search terms to use for government/politics papers:

Project 2025
book banning
reproductive rights
electoral college
voter suppression
voter registration
supreme court

Bias, Disinformation and Misinformation

Media Bias Fact Check
Most comprehensive media bias resource on the internet. Sources evaluated by news value & reliability and bias of content. Use the search feature to check the bias of any source by name or URL.
News Literacy: Is it "Fake News"?
List of other fact checking sites compiled by American University
Allsides.com
"Balanced News from the Left, Center and Right"
10 ways to spot online misinformation
From The Conversation - "an independent, nonprofit news organization, offering explanatory journalism, analysis and expert commentary from academics to the public."
Disinformation is rampant on social media – a social psychologist explains the tactics used against you
from The Conversation - "an independent, nonprofit news organization, offering explanatory journalism, analysis and expert commentary from academics to the public."

Tools for Citing

Noodle Tools (Remote Access)
Create a free account to organize all your research projects and keep your citations, sources, annotations and research papers all in one handy online place. See notecard for info on APA in text citation format. Easily print bibliography or works cited pages including with annotations.
Citation Guide (latest versions)
APA style poster (in text citation and more) -- Purdue OWL
MLA guide to Citing Chat GPT
APA Style Blog on Chat GPT

Search in EDS (Ebsco Discovery Service)

EBSCO DISCOVERY SERVICE (EDS) “one stop search” of library catalog (books, DVDs, magazines, etc.) AND Ebsco’s Academic Search Complete for articles, videos etc. Start by using search box on Library’s homepage (http://epcc.edu/services/libraries)

SORT: Books and research starter appear at the top of the list, and an icon to the left of each title tells you what kind of source it is (academic journal, periodical, newspaper, ebook, video, etc.) At far left you can click what kind of sources you want to narrow your search if needed.
REFINE: Refine your search by looking at the subjects or descriptors of the article and click on one to redo your search.
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: While off campus, if you get a message you aren’t authorized to view the full text, click on the words “hello guest” in the green bar at the top of the page. Login with your EPCC network username and password. OR you can first sign in by clicking any “off campus access” link on database pages.
SAVE: To save items or portions of ebooks to a folder or to download ebooks to read, you must create a free account on EbscoHost. You must register within the EPCC network when you create the account. OR you can use NOODLE TOOLS (see box at right) to save citations and links to full text from anywhere.

Databases

Other Collections

Gale Group/InfoTrac Collections Menu This link opens in a new window
This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos

Controversial Topics

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.

CQ Researcher
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.