A. Definitions of Collection Levels
Collection levels employed by the E.P.C.C. libraries are used both for policy development and for collection evaluation purposes. The collection levels below are abridged from the “W.L.N. Collection Codes” as shown in the American Library Association's Guide for Written Collection Policy Statements, 2nd edition, 1996.
0 Out of Scope: The library does not collect in this subject.
1 Minimal Level: A subject area for which few selections are made beyond very basic works.
2 Basic Information Level: A selective collection of materials that serves to introduce and define a subject and to indicate the varieties of information available elsewhere.
2a Basic Information Level, Introductory: The emphasis is on providing resources that introduce and define a subject.2b Basic Information Level, Advanced: Basic information about a subject is provided on a wider range of topics and with more depth.
3 Study Level: A collection that is adequate to impart and maintain knowledge about a subject in a systematic way but at a level of less than research intensity.
3a Basic Study Level: Supports lower division undergraduate courses, as well as some of the basic independent study needs of the lifelong learner.4 Research Level: Includes the major published source materials required for dissertations and independent research.
5 Comprehensive Level: A collection in which a libraries endeavors, so far as is reasonably possible, to include all significant works of recorded knowledge (publications, manuscripts, other forms) for a necessarily defined “special collection.”
B. Collection Levels at the Libraries
In general, collection levels will be as follows:
Basic Study Level: for most subjects that encompass study areas directly related to associate degree and certificate programs offered at the campus
Basic Information Levels: for subject areas not directly related to certificate or degree programs at the campus but needed to support basic liberal arts course work.
Minimal Level: for subject matter that is peripheral to the campus curriculum and that is accessible at other area libraries.
