Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.
Remember, what you see on this page is only a selection of our databases. For the full list of databases, click on "Online Databases," below.
http://epcc.libguides.com/onlinedatabases
Search over 50 databases at the same time. Steps:
1. Go to the Online Databases page, click on Ebsco Databases,
2. Click on Ebsco Discovery Services (it's the first option on the screen.)
3. At this point you can just enter your search terms. Or, if you want to do a fancier search, Click on the "Advanced Search" option that is listed right under the search box.
For the Advanced Search:
3. Click in the box in front of . This puts checkmarks in front of all the database names.
4. Click the yellow Continue button.
5. Near the middle of the next screen, on the left hand side, there is a "Limit your results" option. Click in the box under "Full Text."
a. Type in sociology in the first box, and change the search type from "Select a Field" to "SU Subject Terms."
b. Then put another search term in the second box. For this second box, change the search type from "Select a Field" to "SU Subject Terms." (I've listed some sample search terms in the box to the right. You can use any term you like, the terms in the box are just some examples.)
HOWEVER, if you don't get enough results, then change the search type in the second box back to "Select a Field."
c. Also, you can always add a third term in the next box if you get too many results.
7. If you press the green Search button now, you will get magazine articles, newspaper articles, and professional journal articles.
If you wished, you could limit your results to professional journals. If you want to do this, scroll down to the "Limit" section again, and this time checkmark "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals." Then after you press the Search button, your results will all be articles from journals.
Databases and Collections
Search a collection of 50 databases at the same time. Detailed search tips are on the left hand side of this screen.
Similar to the Ebsco Databases collection, this lets you search multiple databases at the same time. Although is some overlap in the results you get, Galenet has many articles that Ebsco does not provide.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
If you are researching a controversial social issue, this is an excellent database. It even offers a list of suggested topics. For each topic, you can find many articles. In addition to articles, you can sometimes find topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, video and audio recordings (including transcripts) as well as links to websites.
In the Ebsco or Galenet database searches, you can type in: sociology
then add a word(s) or term(s) to narrow down to a specific topic
Some ideas, below:
Class, Wealth, Poverty and Power: e.g., ghettos, gated communities, food insecurity, minimum wage, welfare, consumerism
Crime: e.g., crime and [gender or age group or ethnicity], school crime, cybercrime, juvenile delinquency, serial killers, prisons, media influence and crime, gun control
Cults, Clans and Communities: e.g., ku klux klan, nazis, branch davidians, punk, hip hop
Family and Marriage: e.g., family, marriage, gay marriage, interracial marriage, gay adoption, single parents, divorce, children and divorce
Food: e.g., vegan, vegetarian, organic, slow food movement, seed bank, monsanto, pesticides, fast food, obesity, advertising
Gender, Age, Sexuality: e.g., gender, gender inequality, men, women, children, adolescents, youth culture, adolescents, senior citizens, transgender, homosexuality
Nationality or Ethnicity or Race: e.g., patriotism, nationalism, or [specific nationality or ethnicity or race] stereotypes, educational levels, immigration
Media: e.g,. mass media, radio, social media, celebrity culture, cyberbulling, selfies
Social Movements and Reform Movements: e.g., feminism, disability rights, civil rights, animal rights, tea party, gay rights, occupy wall street, antinuclear moment, american indian movement, anti-vaccination
Sports: e.g., gender, substance abuse, education
Work Related: e.g., organizational, organizational behavior, management, personnel, corporate culture
Current Controversies usually have a sociological aspect: e.g. cloning, school funding, breastfeeding, terminal care, vaccines, college tuition, alcoholism, drug abuse, etc.
