EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.
America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000) -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations. advertisements, cartoons and much more. Students can explore virtually every aspect of American history, culture and daily life from the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, Vietnam War, the Great Depression, World War II, roaring Twenties and more.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
Black Life in America -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspaper sources from 1704 to current and updated daily.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/
Bibliography of Native North Americans -- [Index | Ebsco]
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage include contents from the sixteenth century to the present. No full text.
http://search.ebscohost.com
El Paso Herald-Post/El Paso Times Newspapers Archive -- [Full Text | ProQuest] *NEW*
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1881 - current.
http://www.proquest.com
El Paso Times -- [Full Text | ProQuest]
Full text coverage from Apr 23, 2010, to the present. Only text, no images.
http://www.proquest.com
Fold3 by Ancestry -- [Full text | ProQuest]
Collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History -- [Full text | Gale] *NEW*
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
https://link.gale.com/apps/PPUS?u=txshracd2503
HeritageQuest -- [Full text | ProQuest]
Includes genealogical and local history materials for tracing family lineages and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. Contains information from towns and families of all 50 states as well as Canada, England, and Ireland. Search by title, family name geographic area, or subject. Includes searchable U.S. Census images from 1790 to 1940, genealogical reference books, Revolutionary-War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant application files, and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874 - African-American) records.
http://www.heritagequestonline.com
Hispanic Life in America -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspaper sources, including many in Spanish. Updated daily, 1704 to current.
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/
JSTOR Essential -- [Full Text |JSTOR]
Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines.
https://www.jstor.org
Salem Press Online -- [Online Books - EPCC owned titles] [Full Text | Salem Press]
Provides searchable full text for EPCC owned history books from Salem Press and Schlager Group.
http://online.salempress.com/home.do#
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps -- [Full Text | Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest]
Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of Texas cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
http://sanborn.umi.com
Texas Reference Center -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
http://search.ebscohost.com
Updated: September 1, 2023
General Databases
Academic OneFile -- [Full Text | Gale]
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Academic Search Complete -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
AVON (Academic Video Online) -- [Videos | Alexander Street]
It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/avon
Credo Reference -- [Full text | Credo]
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos
https://search.credoreference.com
El Paso Times -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
Access World News -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000) -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issues, including news stories, illustrations. advertisements, cartoons and much more. Students can explore virtually every aspect of American history, culture and daily life from the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, Vietnam War, the Great Depression, World War II, roaring Twenties and more.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
Newspaper Source Plus -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides selected full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
New York Times (1851-2013) -- [ProQuest]
Collections: New York Daily Times (1851-1857); New York Times (1857-2013)
http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes?accountid=7027
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps -- [Full Text | Chadwyck-Healey/ProQuest]
Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of Texas cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
http://sanborn.umi.com
Search scholarly articles by typing the film/movie title or historical facts/context
Databases are available 24 hours a day.
Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.
Remember, what you see on the left is only a selection of databases shown or discussed during the Library presentation. For the full list of databases, click on the link below
