EDUC 1300 - Learning Framework (Patricia Duran): Articles/Online Databases

Controversial/Current Issues

Credo Reference [Full text | Credo | Off-campus access] *NEW*

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos

Opposing Viewpoints in Context  [Full text | Gale | Off-campus access]

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

General Databases

Academic OneFile  [Full text | Gale | Off-campus access]

Provides news and periodical articles from more than 4,200 full text titles, many with images, on a wide range of topics from newswires, newspapers and periodicals including general interest and refereed journals.

Academic Search Complete [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access] 

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 7,000 full text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals.

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: epcc.libguides.com/onlinedatabases

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Controversial Issues, General Interest, Newspaper/Current Events or Subject of your topic ex. Health.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (If you are off-campus, click on "Off-campus access." You will be asked to enter your MyEPCC login credentials.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

Health Databases

Consumer Health [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]  *NEW*

Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.  

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source  [Full text | ProQuest | Off-campus access] 

More than 250 leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.

Newspaper Databases

Access World News  [Full Text | NewsBank | Off-campus access] 

A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/

NexisUni  [Full Text | LexisNexis® | Off-campus access] *REPLACES LexisNexis Academic*

This database provides access to more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. 
 

Newspaper Source Plus  [Full text | Ebsco | Off-campus access] *UPGRADED*

Provides selected full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.
http://search.ebscohost.com/

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering,  What is the difference?

Magazine

• Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
• Articles are usually written by people with Journalism or English degrees.  The author's don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
• Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

• Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
• Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
• The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
• The goals of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
• Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
• There are journals for all different types of subjects (Business, Political Science, Nursing, Libraries, Science, History, etc...)
• Information is more reliable than a magazine because the articles are written by professionals in that field.