Psychology - Nicholas Fernandez: Reference Books

This four-volume set features over 2000 alphabetized entries by over 500 contributors. It provides coverage of every major area of psychology including applied, clinical, cognitive, developmental, educational, forensic, industrial, measurement, personality, physiological, social More...and theoretical.

Here in eight superbly organized volumes is the definitive guide to every area of psychological theory, research, and practice.

Although often associated with veterans who have experienced harsh combat conditions, PTSD may afflict anyone who suffers or witnesses a violent attack or event. New therapies are emerging, and therapy for trauma has replaced anxiety or depression as the leading treatment for mental health disorders.

The first in-depth Encyclopedia on the life, work, and theories of Sigmund Freud, this A-Z reference includes the most recent debates on such topics as the theory of dreams and the Oedipus complex, as well as biographical sketches of leading figures in the Freudian movement.

This authoritative four-volume reference spans the entire field of child development and has set the standard against which all other scholarly references are compared.

Leading authorities describe the most important theoretical approaches in personality and review the state of the science in five broad content areas: biological bases; development; self and social processes; cognitive and motivational processes; and emotion, adjustment, and health.

Learning and Memory provides an overview of the full range of current knowledge about learning and memory. It features new articles and article updates that capture advances in the ever-changing fields of memory, neuroscience, and cognition.

With over 900 entries, ranging from brief definitions to substantial essays on major topics, The Oxford Companion to the Mind takes the reader on a dazzling tour of this endlessly fascinating subject, spanning many disciplines within the broad compass of philosophy, psychology and the physiology of the brain.

Used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10-plus years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.

Is designed to serve as a reference manual for neuroscientists, psychiatrists, psychiatric residents, psychologists, neurologists, historians of psychiatry, general practitioners, and academics dealing professionally with concepts of hallucinations and other sensory deceptions.

Following the same format as DSM-IV, the text presents every diagnosis. For each it includes case examples, a detailed analysis of each case, and a clear explanation of how to arrive at the diagnosis and how to rule out other possibilities.

In recent years, doctors and scientists have made great strides in increasing our knowledge of hundreds of birth defects, and more than 4,000 specific genetic disorders have been identified. Offers lay readers and professionals alike the most comprehensive single-volume reference to genetic disorders and birth defects.

Disorders such as sleep apnea have been linked to an increased likelihood of stroke, hypertension, or heart failure. It is now documented that sleep deprivation can facilitate mistakes or incidents at work; mood swings; an increased chance of obesity; and drowsy driving, a serious condition often associated with traffic accidents and fatalities.

Provides in 2 volumes understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Featuring an easy-to-use format and written in non-technical language, the Encyclopedia includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR).

Targeted to patients, their families and allied health students, the encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders, including stroke, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson disease, Tourette Syndrome, Alzheimer's disease, cerebral palsy, vertigo, amnesia and epilepsy.

This authoritative work comprehensively reviews what is known about personality disorders, including vital information to guide clinical decision making. Leading experts synthesize contemporary thinking about the classification, etiologies, and development of these complex disorders. Diagnostic issues are explored, and available assessment instruments are discussed.