Online Nursing and Allied Health Journals
Provides access to online individual health journal subscriptions available at EPCC.
Ebsco Health & Wellness Databases [Ebsco]
Click on link above to search all or several of these databases:
Academic Search Complete -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text for 4,600 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies with some information dating as far back as 1975.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Alt-HealthWatch -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Full text articles from over 180 publications focus on complementary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
CINAHL Complete -- [Ebsco]
CINAHL Complete, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals and provides full text for more than 1,400 journals in nursing, allied health disciplines, alternative/complementary medicine and health sciences librarianship.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Consumer Health Complete [Full Text | Ebsco]
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
http://search.ebscohost.com
Health Source®: Consumer Edition -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 135 health reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Drug information and patient education fact sheets are included in the Clinical Pharmacology portion of this database.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Health Source®: Nursing/Academic Edition -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text of nearly 550 scholarly full text journals in many medical disciplines. Strong coverage of nursing and allied health areas. Includes Clinical Pharmacology database. Updated on a daily basis.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
MedicLatina -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides a full text Spanish language collection of nearly 100 Latin American peer reviewed medical research and investigative journals.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
MEDLINE -- [Ebsco]
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences. No full text articles.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Natural & Alternative Treatments -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides "detailed information on almost 200 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories." http://search.ebscohost.com
Credo Reference [Full text | Credo]
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
https://search.credoreference.com
Credo Video Collection -- [Videos | Credo] *NEW*
A collection of video segments on various topics such as anatomy, art history, biology, food and cooking, medicine, political leaders, and National Geographic videos covering a range of disciplines including astronomy, anthropology, atmospheric science, botany, chemistry, geography, zoology and more.
https://search.credoreference.com
Indexes periodicals covering a wide range of health and medical topics, some with full text.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
LitCovid -- [NIH/National Library of Medicine]
Updated Scientific literature regarding 2019 novel Coronavirus. Subcollection of articles from PubMed updated daily.
Medcom Trainex Video Library --[Videos| Medcom] *NEW*
Provides over 300 full length medical videos on subjects such as nursing, healthcare, anatomy and physiology, assessment, HIPAA, medications, phlebotomy, auscultation, infection control, feeding, pathophysiology, infection control, bloodborne infection, documentation and more.
https://medcomrn.com/epcc/
MICROMEDEX ® 2.0 Healthcare Series [Full text | Truven Health Analytics]
(Use Google Chrome or Mozilla browsers to view off-campus)
A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, the PDR® Electronic Library and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.
http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian
NeoFax/Pediatric [Full text | Truven Health Analytics]
(Use Google Chrome or Mozilla browsers to view off-campus)
Provides Evidence based Drug Monographs and Enteral Formula information for neonatal and pediatric patients.
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.
http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian/
Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection -- [Full Text | Wolters Kluwer]
This database contains 42 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles.
http://ovidsp.ovid.com
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database -- [University of Sydney]
Provides over 48,000 trials, reviews, and guidelines for physiotherapy interventions.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium -- [(1999-) [Full text | ProQuest]
More than 250 leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.
https://www.proquest.com/health?accountid=7027
PubMed -- [National Library of Medicine]
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 30 million citations . PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources.
https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/
Salem Press Online -- [Online Books - EPCC owned titles] [Full Text | Salem Press]
Provides searchable full text for EPCC owned health books from Salem Press.
http://online.salempress.com/home.do#
Salud en Español -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Updated: June 16, 2021
The following terms can be used to search for information on health information:
electronic health records
health information management
health information technology
medical records
HIPAA
See also...
code numbers
coding
medical billing
medical claims
medical coding
nosology
reimbursement
Use quotation marks "" around words to search for a phrase, i.e. "nursing ethics."
Use* to truncate search word: i.e. diabet* searches for diabetes; diabetic; diabetics; all at once.
Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on any of the database names. When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.
