Library Distance Education: Find Background Information

When you have a topic that you do not know much about, you should find out more about it before you begin your assignment.  This is called finding "background information."

Background information is just finding out the key facts about your topic. 

Facts that may include:

• Definition
• Dates
• History of the topic
• Names
• Important events
• Keywords that can be used to find more information

These facts will help you get a basic understanding of your topic and will help guide you to find the resources you need for your assignment.

There are many online sources you can use to find background information on your topic.  

Depending on your topic, these are some sources that might be helpful.  (Click on link and then enter MyEPCC login/password)

• Textbook
• General Database: Credo Reference
  • Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
• Controversial Issue Databases:  Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
  • This database is found on the library homepage under Online Dataqbases.  Provides basic information about various controversial issues and include viewpoints from both sides of the issues.
• General Encyclopedia: Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
  •  A full text encyclopedia with over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Updated annually...
• Specialized Reference Materials/Encyclopedias:  Oxford Research Encyclopedias and Credo Reference 
  • Resources that are focused on a specific subject, time period, culture, or event and provides more in depth information about the different topics they cover​​​​​​​