Use the EPCC online databases to search for articles found in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases even carry video, images, interviews, ebooks and primary sources. Each database is unique so try to familiarize yourself with it before you begin. Use the help or tutorials found in each database page for assistance.
Here are a couple of Hints
· Use the advance search
· Type in simple keywords like "Critical Thinking" or "College Success AND students"
· Make sure to click on full text (if not you will retrieve abstract articles alongside with full text)
· If you are looking for journals only, click on the box that states "journals only," sometimes it might say "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals"
*
List of online databases recommended for this course
General Databases
Academic OneFile
Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering, business and other subjects beginning in 1980. Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full text.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 7,000 full text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications. The database features a majority of native (search-able) PDF content, some dating as far back as 1887.
Controversial Issues
C.Q. Researcher
Controversial topics, C.Q. Researcher magazines including articles, chronologies, charts and graphs
Opposing Viewpoints
Controversial topics, Pro and con essays from the Opposing Viewpoints book series, Magazine and Newspaper articles, some Journal articles. Excerpts from Reference Books and Statistical Sources, Primary Documents, Web Links
Newspapers
El Paso Times
Complete full text content of local and regional news beginning January 1, 1999.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1857 - 2007)
Collections: New York Daily Times (1851-1857); New York Times (1857-2007)
