RNSG 1301: Pharmacology: Finding Articles

CINAHL with Full Text

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexes over 2700 journals in nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, alternative/ complementary medicine and health sciences librarianship. Contains coverage of journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. Full text articles are available for over 325 journals, some dating back to 1982.

 Health Reference Center Academic

Indexes periodicals covering a wide range of health and medical topics, some with full text.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine and over 700 health-related videos. Key health web sites are also listed here, as well as 2,200 general interest health publications, and over 400 health and medical journals.

Medline

Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences.  Minimal full text articles.

Micromedex 2.0 Healthcare Series

A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, the PDR® Electronic Library and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.

Natural and Alternative Treatments

Contains information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories.

ProQuest Nursing Journals

More than 875 leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.

PubMed

Provides access to 21 million citations.  Minimal full text articles.

Academic Search Complete

This database provides access to more than 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Academic OneFile

Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering,  business and other subjects beginning in 1980. Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full text.

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/library

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Health and Wellness or General Interest.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (If you are off-campus, click on "Off-campus access." You will be asked to enter your last name and EPCC ID number.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article.  To find out if we own the full-text article on another database or in print, try the following:

In Print

• Go to the library homepage
• Click on "library catalog"
• Right side of page, click on "Magazines/Journals/Newspapers"
• Enter the journal title needed
• If owned, will show you at which campus and the years owned

In Electronic Format

• Go to the library homepage
• Click on "online databases"
• Click on "alphabetical list of databases"
• Click on Letter "A"
• Click on "A to Z index" (off-campus available also)
• Enter title of journal in search box
• If owned, will give you name of database click on it.

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on any of the database names.  When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.

Use quotation marks "" around words to search for a phrase, i.e. "nursing ethics."

Use* to truncate search word: i.e. diabet* searches for diabetes; diabetic; diabetics; all at once.

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering,  What is the difference?

Magazine

• Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
• Articles are usually written by people with Journalism or English degrees.  The author's don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
• Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

• Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
• Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
• The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
• The goals of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
• Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
• There are journals for all different types of subjects (Business, Political Science, Nursing, Libraries, Science, History, etc...)
• Information is more reliable than a magazine because the articles are written by professionals in that field.