Diagnostic Imaging of Congenital Heart Defects by
A valuable new reference in the diagnosis and image-guided treatment of congenital heart defects Congenital heart defects represent the most common birth defect and affect millions of children worldwide. Defects of the heart and great vessels span a broad spectrum. Modern medical progress has enabled more than 90% of patients to reach adulthood. In many cases, however, patients remain ill throughout their lives, with significant limits on quality of life and physical capacity. Our ongoing goals are to improve treatment options even further. This book details all important imaging techniques for diagnosing congenital heart defects and assessing their severity. The author is a highly experienced expert in his field, making his clinical experience available to readers who can then implement that knowledge in their own daily routine. Key Features: All key imaging modalities, including 2D and 3D echocardiography, cardiac catheter exams, MRI and MR angiography, CT, and chest X-ray Descriptions of general and technical fundamentals, a structure based on clinical pictures, and current standard values Crucial information emphasized in callout boxes and tabular overviews Supports the professional dialogue between all the involved caretakers Richly illustrated with more than 1,000 stunning images from the newest generation of devices Gutberlet's Diagnostic Imaging of Congenital Heart Defects: Diagnosis and Image-Guided Treatment will be welcomed by pediatric and general radiologists as a comprehensive, multimodality guide to the diagnosis and management of congenital heart defects. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Diagnostic Imaging of the Chest by
Your one-stop source of complete imaging information for the evaluation of thoracic conditions and diseases in all modalities Due to the remarkable concentration of various vital organs that can be visualized in thoracic imaging, the region occupies a firm central place in the spectrum of diagnostic imaging. The book is based on the contents of the curriculum for thoracic imaging of the European Society of Radiology and covers the gamut of issues in thoracic imaging that radiologists are faced with in their daily clinical practice. Contents are divided into four main sections: fundamentals of diagnostic thoracic imaging, diseases of the chest and special findings, differential diagnostic considerations and incidental findings, and glossary. Key Features: Full coverage of all disease entities as they affect the lungs, airways, pleura, mediastinum, thorax wall and diaphragm, thoracic arteries and veins, and the heart All imaging modalities are covered in detail: projection radiography, fluoroscopy, ultrasound, CT, and MRI, as well as digital image postprocessing Subsections concentrate on the more critical findings, such as pulmonary nodules and cavitary lesions Special section on occupational pulmonary diseases Congenital malformations of the thorax, and much more Diagnostic Imaging of the Chest is an essential reference guide for radiologists, both in training and in practice. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: a Practical Guide by
Musculoskeletal ultrasound has seen a considerable surge in usage in recent years. Its advantages are manifold. Given adequate training of the examiner, it is very cost-effective; there is no ionizing radiation to contend with; the scanners are normally highly portable; and it enables certain interventional procedures to be performed with great accuracy (therapeutic injections of local anesthetics and/or corticosteroids into areas of complex anatomy, e.g., the shoulder). In this book, the anatomic areas are organized in chapter pairs, of which the first part of the pair summarizes the diagnostic imaging of that area from various angles so as to obtain the standard images necessary for reliable evaluation. The second part covers the image-guided injection techniques themselves, including requisite equipment. Key Features: Concise texts accompanied by typical US scans, brilliant anatomic illustrations, and many photographs showing proper scanner placement Juxtaposes normal and pathologic anatomy for maximum understanding Detailed and lucid description of all common injection procedures, appropriately illustrated Resteghini's Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound and Guided Injection: A Practical Guide is an essential introductory reference for physical therapists, sports medicine physicians, orthopaedic practitioners new to the method, radiographers, and allied health professionals involved in the diagnosis and therapy of musculoskeletal conditions.
Endoscopic Diagnostics in Biomedicine by
Concise, yet comprehensive, coverage of various endoscopic forms as provided in this book will help the reader generate new knowledge in this field. Endoscopy has been in practice for many years in diagnostic medicine. From a simple image collection device, the endoscope has grown into an instrument that incorporates multiple imaging modalities to extract structural and functional information from different parts of the human body. Multimodality endoscopes are discussed in detail in this book, along with their clinical applications. The book is intended for graduate-level students as a quick reference to understand the evolving trends in endoscopic design research. The challenges that remain unaddressed could potentially be explored by biomedical researchers to advance this technology to realize the concept of optical biopsy during routine endoscopic examinations. The book portrays the endoscope as a purely optical instrument, and hence hybrid modes of endoscopic imaging are not covered.
Medical Imaging Technologies and Methods for Health Care by
Medical Imaging Technologies and Methods for Health Care provides timely, evidence-based information that helps readers understand innovations in medical imaging. These innovations are computer / imaging based technologies which are set to have a bigger impact on the detection and management of human diseases. This volume covers: -Image processing and analyses -Computer-aided diagnosis and detection -Data mining in medical imaging -Mobile picture archiving and communications systems (PACS) -Image analytic methods in bone mineral density and detection of Alzheimer's disease -Biomedical engineering methods applied in biomedical imaging This volume is intended as a useful resource for undergraduate and post-graduate students in medical imaging technology, radiographers, doctors, biomedical engineers, researchers and practitioners in health care.
Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Atlas of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Packed with more sonographic images than ever before, the third edition of the Atlas of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology helps you better understand and interpret sonographic imagery, and improve diagnostic accuracy of ultrasound images. This comprehensive visual tutorial is split into two distinct sections: obstetrical ultrasound and gynecological ultrasound. Each section covers normal and abnormal anatomy, pathology, and interventional procedures. Features: Includes more than 1,300 ultrasound images that highlight normal and abnormal anatomy, pathological conditions, and procedures. Links to more than 200 video clips that depict, in real-time, diagnoses of sonographic abnormalities. All 3 authors hail from Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. Additional author brings experience in and greater coverage of gynecological ultrasound. Ideal for residents and physicians in radiology, obstetrics, gynecology, emergency medicine, and family practice. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Donald School 3D-4D Ultrasound in Gynecology by 
Irwin and Rippe's Ultrasonography for Management of the Critically Ill by 
Pediatric Sonography by
Pediatric Sonography has long been recognized as the leading technical reference in its field. Now, the fifth edition continues in that tradition, providing up-to-date guidance on sonographic image decision-making, examination, and interpretation in both children and adolescents. Each chapter covers a specific organ system and the disease processes associated with it. Overflowing with over 1800 updated figures, including Doppler sonograms and full color illustrations. Briskly covers all aspects of sonography in children and adolescents, including imaging techniques, instrumentation, examination, and diagnosis. Depicts the presentation of normal anatomy and identifies technical errors that may affect your interpretation of the sonographic image. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Practical Guide to 3D-4D Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology by 
Principles and Practice of Ultrasonography by 
Principles of Vascular and Intravascular Ultrasound by 
Step by Step Ultrasound in Obstetrics by 
Ultrasound by
Uniquely designed for the Core Exam, Ultrasound: A Core Review covers all key aspects of ultrasound, mimicking the image-rich, multiple-choice format of the actual test. Ideal for residents getting ready for the Core Examination, as well as practitioners taking recertification exams, this one-of-a-kind review follows the structure and content of what you'll encounter on the test, effectively preparing you for Core Exam success!Key Features: Contains 300 image-rich ultrasound questions with answers, explanations, and references. Features high-quality black-and-white, color, and spectral Doppler images throughout. Covers organ-specific ultrasound as well as gynecologic, pregnancy, vascular, musculoskeletal, peritoneal space, retroperitoneum, abdominal wall, chest, and ultrasound-guided procedures. Includes questions on noninterpretive skills such as ultrasound physics and quality and safety. Provides answers and rationales as to why an answer is correct and other choices are incorrect. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Ultrasound Q&a Review for the Boards by
Ultrasound Q&A provides invaluable prep material for board exams! Ultrasound Q&A Review for the Boards by esteemed radiologist and educator Adrian Dawkins and an impressive array of authors, delivers a robust test prep. Employing a self-evaluation approach, the book presents fundamental and practice-oriented concepts in ultrasound. The overall layout mirrors the ABR board exams, with ultrasound images presented in a clinical framework followed by board-format multiple-choice questions. Chapters are generally organized by organ systems and encompass all major areas. The text starts with two chapters covering the first and second trimesters of pregnancy. Subsequent chapters encompass pediatric, renal, hepatobiliary, musculoskeletal, breast, neck, and scrotal ultrasound. The final two chapters on miscellaneous topics and physics ensure a more comprehensive review. Key Features Easy-to-follow cases reinforce common ultrasound concepts, aiding in retention Practical questions and answers inspired by everyday practice include explanations for both the correct and incorrect answers, enhancing comprehension and knowledge References at the end of each chapter provide readers with resources for further exploration This book provides an essential review for radiology trainees prepping for initial board certification and sonographers preparing for the boards. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Atlas of Musculoskeletal Ultrasound of the Extremities by 
Gray's Basic Anatomy by
Depend on Gray's Basic Anatomy, 2nd Edition to deliver superbly illustrated, authoritative, interactive content preferred by both students and faculty. Easy-to-read and concise, it has a strong clinical focus that's ideal for readers who need an efficient, high-yield anatomy textbook offering coverage of the most important anatomical concepts. Part of the renowned Gray's family of references, featuring outstanding full-color artwork praised for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, a strong clinical focus, and interactive online features. Easy-to-use format Online features include self-assessment questions, additional clinical, and PT cases, and much more. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. New figures throughout, including explanatory artwork of the cranial nerves. New Imaging Apps boxes, including OCT, provide even more student-friendly exposure to clinical content. New Clinical Apps boxes detail clinical implications.
Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Cross Sectional Anatomy by
This spectacular cross-sectional atlas provides a roadmap of normal sonographic anatomy of the musculoskeletal system with optimized images that emphasize spatial relationships and three-dimensional orientation. The book is designed to help novices acquire pattern recognition skills to resolve images into their anatomic components by pairing ultrasound scans with cross-sectional drawings. It will enhance familiarity with musculoskeletal anatomy as it appears on ultrasound imaging for practitioners at any level. Using a sectioned approach, the authors present a visual baseline for evaluating tendon, muscle, ligament, and nerve problems in the upper extremity, lower extremity, and cervical regions. Multiple high resolution views of each structure are accompanied by original illustrations that document the structures in the sonograph and serve as a reference to decipher the image and foster understanding of anatomic relationships and ultrasound appearances. The atlas is an indispensable tool for clinicians learning diagnostic ultrasound, as they can use the anatomical images for comparisons with their own scans. For the seasoned practitioner, the organized format with high-resolution examples makes this an essential reference for confirming exam findings. KEY FEATURESOrients users to anatomical relationships best seen in cross section and necessary to effective utilization of diagnostic ultrasoundOver 150 ultrasound images cover musculoskeletal anatomy from the shoulder to the footEach ultrasound image has a correlative drawing in cross-sectional or regional format with the scanned area depicted within a highlighted frame to enhance understanding of the scanned anatomyEach image is accompanied by a body icon illustrating the level of the scan for each regionBrief text points and legends emphasize key features and landmarks and offer technical tips for obtaining and interpreting scans
Pocket Atlas of Sectional Anatomy, Volume III: Spine, Extremities, Joints by
Full multiplanar coverage of the spine, extremities, and joints! Renowned for its superb illustrations and highly practical information, the third volume of this classic reference reflects the very latest in state-of-the-art imaging technology. Together with Volumes 1 and 2, this compact and portable book provides a highly specialized navigational tool for clinicians seeking to master the ability to recognize anatomical structures and accurately interpret CT and MR images. Highlights of Volume 3: New CT and MR images of the highest quality Didactic organization using two-page units, with radiographs on one page and full-color illustrations on the next Concise, easy-to-read labeling on all figures Color-coded, schematic diagrams that indicate the level of each section Sectional enlargements for detailed classification of the anatomical structure Comprehensive, compact, and portable, this popular book is ideal for use in both the classroom and clinical setting.
Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals by
An ideal resource for the classroom or clinical setting, Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive, and highly visual approach to the sectional anatomy of the entire body. Side-by-side presentations of actual diagnostic images from both MRI and CT modalities and corresponding anatomic line drawings illustrate the planes of anatomy most commonly demonstrated by diagnostic imaging. Easy-to-follow descriptions detail the location and function of the anatomy, while clearly labeled images help you confidently identify anatomic structures during clinical examinations. In all, it's the one reference you need to consistently produce the best possible diagnostic images. Side-by-side presentation of anatomy illustrations and corresponding CT and MRI images clarifies the location and structure of sectional anatomy. More than 1,500 high-quality images and detailed line drawings demonstrate sectional anatomy for every body plane commonly imaged in the clinical setting. Updated summary tables are used to simplify and organize key information in each chapter. CT or MR images of special interest are featured on the opening page in each chapter to pique readers' interest in the area about to be covered in the text. Reference drawings and corresponding scanning planes appear on appropriate pages with the actual images, so they are easily referenced for correlation between the scanning planes and the resulting images. Introductory chapter lays a foundation of the terminology that is related to sectional anatomy. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines. NEW! Additional lymphatic system images give readers a better picture of this nuanced body system. NEW! Additional pathology boxes help readers connect commonly encountered pathologies to related anatomy for greater diagnostic accuracy. NEW! Updated line art familiarizes readers with the latest 3D and vascular imaging technology. NEW! 2-color design makes difficult content easier to digest.
