Education 1300 (Debra Farrelly): Books

The public health landscape is one of the most rapidly growing and cutting-edge fields at the moment and, in the wake of the global COVID-19 pandemic, there has never been a more meaningful time to enter the field. This thoroughly updated and revised third edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health continues to act as a career guide both for students seeking a first job in the field of public health and for anyone seeking guidance on how to best navigate the next stages of an existing career. Discussing not only emerging career paths but also traditional and familiar job types in public health, this book offers comprehensive advice and practical tips.

For those interested in government and public policy, a career in public administration offers many varied career paths, including local government, public health and safety, education, city planning and the environment. Public administrators can work as civil servants, government officials, and even cabinet members for the president of the United States. Specific career paths include: This volume takes a closer look at careers in the following areas: - Budgeting & Financial Services - City & County Management - Environmental Services - Legislation - Parks & Recreation Management - Regulatory Agencies - Public Affairs & Communications - Rural Development - Urban & Regional Planners. Careers in Public Administration provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers available to those interested in public administration in federal, state, and local governments, including positions in planning, regulatory work, and law enforcement.

Awarded second place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development! The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked.

Welcome to the real estate field! If you are interested in a career in real estate, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Real estate agents Real estate brokers Real estate property managers Real estate transaction coordinators Showing assistants Real estate marketing specialists Real estate appraisers

Welcome to the criminal justice field! If you are interested in a career in criminal justice, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Criminal Justice Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Security guards/officer -Correctional officer -Parole/probation officer -Police officers/detectives -Criminal court prosecutors/judges

Welcome to the mathematics and statistics field! If you are interested in a career in mathematics or statistics, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Mathematicians and Statisticians: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Statisticians College Math Professors Actuaries Research Analysts Economists

We are starting to see the first real progress in space exploration in the private sector, and there are many jobs becoming available in this fascinating new field. Explore what's out there as you embark on a new expedition in Cosmic Careers. Sierra Nevada, Northrup Grumman, Boeing, and Bigelow Aerospace built prototypes of deep-space habitats that NASA began testing in March 2019. Therefore, physical evidence exists that human beings are committed to living in space for purposes of research and industrial pursuits such as mining. Now that companies are set to take both professional astronauts and well-trained passengers into space as early as summer of 2021, this book will prepare you to take your place--whether as an investor, owner, employee, or enthusiast--in the exciting world of space exploration. In Cosmic Careers, readers will: Receive a comprehensive listing of the careers and skillsets that are in demand over the coming years in space exploration. Access stories, company profiles, and technical descriptions spotlighting information that is relevant today and over the next few decades. Gain insights into the world of space exploration, its characters, and the real opportunities that are within anyone's grasp. Cosmic Careers is filled with practical information on the issues and challenges that must be solved to further the exploration and the establishment of settlements beyond planet Earth. There will also be opportunities in harnessing energy from the sun using Earth orbiting solar power satellites; designing new forms of space transportation; and construction of facilities for refueling stations for rockets, processing minerals from near Earth asteroids, and building new spaceships and space habitats.

Gaming has become a legitimate career path at last. Gaming is generally recognized as interactive, skill-based play that relies upon specific indicators of progression and success (like moving to the next level or unlocking a new facet of the game). Today's gamers are finding exciting and rewarding career options that were not available two or three decades ago. A passion and talent for gaming opens up career paths that range from professional player and coach, to game developer and brand ambassador. Specific careers include: - Animators & Artists - Audio Engineer - eSports Coaches & Players - Game Development - Professional Gamer - Recruitment & Talent Sourcing - User Experience Specialist - Game Designers & Programmers - Writers.

Welcome to the financial management professionals! If you are interested in a career as financial manager or moving up into that role, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Financial Managerst: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with knowledgeable professionals in this stable, lucrative, and growing profession: Chief Financial Officer Credit Manager Financial Center Manager Insurance Manager Risk Manager

Welcome to the media and journalism field! If you are interested in a career in media or journalism, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Media and Journalism Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Editor in Chief Editor/Senior Editor Copy Editor Proofreader Reporter Correspondent Broadcast Journalist Photo Journalist